Research Guides: Chemistry: Find Articles (includes SciFinder)

Top Databases for Chemistry

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
First timeusers must self register using their UND.edu email address. Offers access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for books and articles from vetted, high quality sources in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author, journal, and book metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Now includes Book Citation Index.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access to the web editions of American Chemical Society journals.

Other Databases

Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals published by Elsevier Science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
In 2008 merged with Blackwell Synergy to deliver 1400 Wiley-Blackwell journals, and more than 6000 online books, reference works, databases, protocols and other electronic resources through one integrated service.

UND Dissertations and Theses
Filtered to include only UND theses and dissertations, this is a good source to search topics, methodologies, advisors, and results of UND researchers.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Click on Advanced Search under the search box to get to links to the lists of Articles or Journals or type in your search in the Search Box.
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 9,804 journals in the directory. Nearly 1,573,847 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
CCDC Access Structures
Find 3D structures and chemical diagrams from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre by searching compound names or journal information. For more advanced access, use the Cambridge Structural Database System at the Chester Fritz Library.

Cambridge Structural Database System

The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre is a comprehensive repository of experimentally determined small molecule structures. Continually updated with new structures and improvements to existing entries, it is a unique teaching resource and an ideal platform for furthering students' understanding of 3D structural chemistry. It contains an integrated suite of tools available on the computer station in the back corner of the 2nd floor computer lab in the Chester Fritz Library. Tools included are:

ConQuest is the primary platform for using the Crystallographic Data Centre and on the computer's desktop. Search using formulas, drawings, experimental details, and more.
Mercury creates 3D visualizations including high resolution image files for publication, 3D printable model files, and animations.
Mogul includes a sketching tool for retrieving CSD entries and can batch process files of molecules, ions, and crystal structures.
IsoStar provides 3D scatterplots of intermolecular interactions to help users understand the preferred geometry of interactions, the location of the strongest interactions, and whether or not interactions are common.
PreQuest converts data and can be used to build a personal database of structures or create structural data files searchable by ConQuest.

Most tools appear as icons on the computer desktop; see the folder labeled CCDC for user guides and additional tools. Basic searching is also available online through CCDC's Access Structures.