Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Reference Sources

Reference Databases

Reference resources can help you get started on your research by providing background information, identifying important researchers on a topic, and defining key concepts and terms. Use these databases and the Library Search to get started.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference tools
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty-made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work. If you require an alternative accessibility plan, please contact Digital Initiatives, Systems, and Services.

Top Reference Books

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 0471238961
Publication Date: 2001-01-26
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology. "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology"
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by Don W. Green; Marylee Z. Southard
ISBN: 9780071834087
Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Provides coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering: chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more.
Chemical Properties Handbook by Carl Yaws
ISBN: 9780070734012
Publication Date: 1998-10-22
Provides information on how chemicals will behave at different temperatures and under different conditions. Covering both organic and inorganic substances, and providing both experimental values and estimated values.
Chemical Process and Design Handbook by James G. Speight
ISBN: 9780071374330
Publication Date: 2001-12-11
Through analyzing the basic elements in all process design, this data book aims to allow the engineer to control chemical processes in order to yield the desired effects efficiently and economically. It emphasizes chemical conversions, the chemical reactions applied to industrial processing. Changes in existing technological or chemical processes as well as possible future improvements or changes to other more economic or more readily available feedstocks are also included.
Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations, Fourth Edition by Tyler G. Hicks; Nicholas P. Chopey
ISBN: 9780071768047
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice. New calculations reflect the latest green technologies and environmental engineering standards.
Industrial Chemical Process Design, 2nd Edition by Douglas Erwin
ISBN: 9780071819800
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
Provides a step-by-step methodology and 25 downloadable, customizable, needs-specific software applications that offer quick, accurate solutions to complex process design problems. These applications uniquely fill the gaps left by large, very expensive commercial process simulation software packages used to select, size, and design industrial chemical process equipment.