Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Find Articles

Top Picks for Chemical Engineering

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Includes the database Compendex, which focuses on engineering-specific journal articles and conference papers and offers coverage for chemical engineering.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
First timeusers must self register using their UND.edu email address. Offers access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for books and articles from vetted, high quality sources in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author, journal, and book metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Now includes Book Citation Index.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty-made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work. If you require an alternative accessibility plan, please contact Digital Initiatives, Systems, and Services.

Additional Options

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access to the web editions of American Chemical Society journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE journals and conference proceedings in aerospace, electrical engineering, computer science, and other technologies.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Physics, Engineering, and Technology
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
IOPscience is a new platform for IOP-hosted journal content. All IOP Publishing journals to which the Library subscribes will be accessible via IOPscience.(See Also IOP Electronic Journals). IOPscience express is an iPhone application that allows you to access the latest IOP-owned journal content from your iPhone or iPod Touch.

Searching - Wiley Online Library
(This used to be called Wiley Interscience.)

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Journals in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.

Interesting & Useful Web Resources

American Institue of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
ASEE Chemical Engineering Division
Chemical Engineering Division of the American Society for Engineering Education
Chemical and Engineering News
"Chemical & Engineering News is a weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society. C&EN editors and reporters based in Europe, the U.S., and Asia cover science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field."
eMolecules
search by chemical structure or named chemical. "[eMolecules] is a new, open-access chemistry search engine that aims to provide all publicly available chemical information for free...particularly effective in tracking down chemical suppliers for particular compounds." review from Choice, April '06 - 43(8)