Searching for Online and Physical Books
Need to FIND A BOOK @ Chester Fritz Library?
- Go to the Library's Web Site and start typing a topic or title in the Library Search box
- Select "in Books+" from the drop-down options
- To limit your search results to EBOOKS, under "Availability," select "Available online"
- You can use the Advanced Search to limit by material type "Books" and search by "Subject"
Need to FIND A BOOK *NOT* @ Chester Fritz Library?
- Use WorldCat - Available from QuickLinks. You can search books from anywhere in the country and request Chester Fritz Library borrow that book for you. If it turns out that the book is available from our library, you'll see
. You can have our library borrow a book from another library (called an InterLibrary Loan) by registering and requesting the book here.
- eBooksA helpful research guide on how to find and use eBooks from the Chester Fritz Library
- Google BooksSearches the entire texts of books
- NoveList This link opens in a new windowNoveList is an online resource to help readers discover books in every fiction genre, juvenile through adult. In addition to book jackets and descriptions, find award winners, ?best of? lists, read-alike suggestions, and book discussion guides.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOCLC’s WorldCat.org offers a combine catalog of thousands of libraries worldwide, allowing you to find books and other library materials at other institutions. By default, WorldCat.org shows you the libraries closest to your current location first.
How to Find a Book on the Shelf
Once you find a book from the Library Search you want to check out:
- Record the location and call number (e.g. Floor 3 and TA159.L5733 2011)
- Go to the bookshelves (also known as "stacks") to retrieve it
Search the shelves from left to right- Match the call number (it's unique to each book)
- Check-out the item (bring your UND ID)
- Ask for a renewal if you need it longer
Student library workers often are in the stacks-- ask them for help or Ask Us online.
Book Locations
Books are located in the following areas of the Chester Fritz Library:
1st floor of the Chester Fritz Library
| Location | Subjects |
| A - Z Oversize | All subjects, all larger than regular books |
2nd floor of the Chester Fritz Library
| Location | Subjects |
| Reference | Covers all subjects. See Credo Reference for online resources |
| Popular Reading | Bestsellers and leisure reading |
3rd floor of the Chester Fritz Library
| Call Number / Location | Subjects |
| H - N General Stacks | Business, Sociology, Political Science, Law, Education, Music, Fine Arts |
| P - Z General Stacks | Languages, Literature, Science, Technology, Bibliography |
| DVDs | Popular and academic movies and TV programs on Blu-ray and DVD, including foreign language films |
| Games | Board and card games available for 1-week checkout |
4th floor of the Chester Fritz Library
| Call Number / Location | Subjects |
| A - G General Stacks | Philosophy, Religion, History, Geography, Anthropology, Recreation |
| A - Z Special Collections | Focus on North Dakota / UND Topics and Authors |
| Children's Collection | Literature for kids and young adults, organized by the Dewey Decimal System |
Rules for Borrowing and Checkout
- Information on Borrowing and Renewals
- Basic information on these services
- Borrowing Items from Other Libraries
- Interlibrary loan is the service to supply items we don't have
- What Do I Have Checked Out?
- Log into "My Library Account" with your UND credentials
- See what you have out, when it's due, and renew
- Scanning Instead of Borrowing
- Create PDFs of text or JPEGS of images
Things to remember when your wanted item is checked out (or the item you have checked out is wanted by others):
- Items may be subject to recall after the initial checkout period ends
- See the Borrowing and Renewal Page to learn how long a borrowing period is
Bring your UND ID, it's your library card
Book Reviews
- Choice ReviewsChoice reviews books for academic libraries. Use the Quick Search box or Advanced Search link to search the database as far back as 1988. Users can login to see what has been reviewed that is connected to your profile, receive a monthly newsletter, save searches, and make lists. To learn more about how to use a Choice Reviews account read here.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. This includes book review published in scholarly journals. Users can use advanced search options or the results filter to limit search results to book reviews by selecting "Reviews" from the list of Source Types.
- US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. To find book reviews, users can use advanced search options or the results filter to search results and select "Reviews" from the list of Document Types. Note that these results will include film and other art reviews alongside book reviews.
How To Limit Library Search Results to Reviews:
- Select the Articles drop down menu option in Library Search
- On the right, under the bold heading Revise, you can refine your search. Select under Resource Type and choose Reviews.
- You can further narrow your search by topic, author, and publication year.