Research Guides: Open Access: Open Access Resources

Browser Tools

Unpaywall
Read paywalled research papers for free. (By ImpactStory)
Open Access Button
Free, legal research articles and data delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.
EndNote Click
Powered by Web of Science. Fast, one-click access to millions of open access research papers and research papers in your library's subscription databases.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB's primary aim is to increase discoverability of books published under Open Access licenses. It provides a searchable index to book information with links to the full text on the publishers' websites or in repositories.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 2,125 journals in the directory. Nearly 91,000 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.
Smithsonian Open Access
download, remix, and reuse images from the the Smithsonian’s images

Open Access Journals Toolkit
This toolkit is intended to help the scholarly community run and maintain open access journals.

Open Policy Finder
Previously called SHERPA/RoMEO, Open Policy Finder is a freely available online database listing journal publisher copyright and self-archiving policies including information on paid access options with direct links to the relevant publisher policies.