Music

How to Use This Research Guide

This guide is meant to assist you in getting started on your research or project.

Use the links below for more general information, or click on the  green  navigation tabs for more specific resources.

Below are some general art resources to get your started on your research...

Home

Online

Search for definitions and biographies, view selected Timelines or use a research guide for Music.  This online package of standard Reference works in Music includes:

  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music

  • Grove Music Online

  • The Oxford Companion to Music

  • Grove Dictionary of American Music (AmeriGrove)

Please Note: Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.  If you can't gain access, try again later. Update: the ability to "Logout" has been removed.

In Print

 

Highlighted below are some new Reference books in Music at the Chester Fritz library.


RISM

RISM (RÃpertoire International des Source Musicales - International Inventory of Musical Resources) is available online or in print at the Chester Fritz Library 3rd floor ML113 .I6

Location of Music Books in the Library

The Chester Fritz Library (CFL) offers print resources complementary to those at the Music Library in Hughes Fine Arts

Use the Books+ Search limit on the library homepage

General Collection (3rd floor)

M Music (General)

ML Literature of Music

MT Musical Instruction & Study


In Print


Dissertations


Other Ways of Searching

 

How to search in multiple EBSCO databases at once

Academic Search contains many Music journals, and your research topic might overlap with other disciplines. By searching in other Ebsco databases, you can cast a wider net and find relevant articles. 

Pro-tip: Use Choose Databases to search in multiple Ebsco databases at the same time if your research topic overlaps (ex: if you're researching music education, you might want to search in RILM and ERIC at the same time)

 

Choose Databases highlighted above Rilm search box

Select Choose Databases and click the box next to the other databases you want to use at the same time. Press Ok and then click the Search button to re-do your search with the same keywords but this time in all the databases you selected. 

Suggested Ebsco databases: always include Academic Search Ultimate. Optional: ERIC for Education, APA PsycInfo for Psychology, Art & Architecture Source, MLA for literature and the dramatic arts, America History & Life.

More Sources for Articles

Click on Advanced Search

Scroll down the page to see Narrow by ... Journal Filter

Select Music (77 titles)