Online Reference Resources
Reference resources can help you get started on your research by providing background information, identifying important researchers on a topic, and defining key concepts and terms. Use the resources below to get started.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCREDO is an online encyclopedia and dictionary of authoritative sources that also links to articles available to UND students. You can find definitions, encyclopedia articles, and more.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering also has many handbooks, ebooks, explanations of standards, and more. Search for a topic or browse by subject - mechanical engineering - and subtopic (automotive engineering, control engineering, etc.)
Top Reference Books
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by ISBN: 9781259588501Offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices.
The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by ISBN: 9780429117916Second edition of the best-selling reference book for classic mechanical engineering problems- CRC Handbook of Thermal Engineering byISBN: 9781315119717Publication Date: 2017-11-08Covers basic concepts, equations and principles of thermodynamics, heat transfer, and fluid dynamics and major application areas such as bioengineering, energy-efficient building systems, traditional and renewable energy sources, food processing, and aerospace heat transfer topics. Includes numerical and computational tools, microscale and nanoscale engineering, and new complex-structured materials.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volume 1 by ISBN: 9781118112823Publication Date: 2015-02-02This first volume covers materials and mechanical design, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more. Presents comprehensive coverage of materials and mechanical design.
- American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)We have several of their standards in the reference section on the 2nd floor of the library under TH 7xxx: ASHRAE Fundamentals, HVAC Systems & Equipment, and HVAC Applications. We have additional titles and older editions on the 3rd floor of the library in TH 7xxx range. They also make some standards available for free on their website.
Matlab and Design Reference Sources
Introduction to Solid Modeling Using SOLIDWORKS 2020 by ISBN: 9781260254136Publication Date: 2020-06-05Tutorial-based introduction to solid modeling and the SOLIDWORKS software. Each tutorial is organized as "keystroke-level" instructions, designed to teach the use of the software.
MATLAB and SIMULINK (A Basic Understanding for Engineers) by Publication Date: 2020Introduces the MATLAB toolbar and SIMULINK toolboxes and discusses MATLAB operators, functions, and graphics. Provides numerous MATLAB programs tested and run for various projects for different disciplines in engineering.
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists by ISBN: 9780081029978Publication Date: 2019-04-26Covers fundamentals and applications, with illustrations throughout. Program design and algorithm development are presented, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. Also ideal for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB.
