Skip to main content

TLL Legal Research Series: About / Schedule

Student guide for using law related print and online research materials.

Websites & Guides

CALI - guide

HeinOnline - guide

Lexis - guide

Forthcoming

Westlaw

LegalTrac

Practice materials

Legislative Materials

Appellate Materials

Fastcase

Casemaker X

 

 

Over the course of the academic year, the law library will present a series of 12 instructional sessions covering the most useful electronic and print resources in our collection.

These sessions will be valuable to you as a student, supporting and supplementing work in the classroom, and later as you become involved in student organizations, internships and externships, and clerking. Most importantly, understanding these resources will also help you to be a better attorney.

Most sessions will be about half an hour long and held over the lunch hour. In a typical session, students will be provided with a basic introduction to the resource, including information on how to sign up, access, and navigate through the resource. Some sessions, such as those provided by Lexis and Westlaw, will go in to greater detail, and those who would like more in-depth instruction on any of the resources covered are encouraged to make an appointment with one of our law librarians.

Students who attend 8 of the 12 sessions will receive an Acknowledgement of Completion from the Law Library. This Acknowledgement can be listed on your resume to signify your awareness of major legal research tools. You may attend these sessions at any time during your law school career. You may also repeat sessions in subsequent years for a “refresher,” but repeated sessions do not count toward the 8 sessions required for the Acknowledgement of Completion. Because this program is new, current 3Ls who are unable to meet the 8 out of 12 requirement in one year may make arrangements for additional training with David Haberman in the law library (david.haberman@email.und.edu).

Fall 2018: all sessions meet from 12:15-12:45 pm, in Room 203 (Molbert) unless otherwise noted:

August 28 - CALI - Computer Assisted Legal Instruction
CALI, the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction, provides over 1,000 interactive tutorials, written by law professors and librarians across the country. The lessons, geared towards law students, cover 40 legal subject areas. Lessons are based on specific legal topics as well as the general law school experience.
Target audience: all students

September 11  - HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a fully-searchable database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles. It allows for broader historical research, providing coverage, from inception, of more than 2,400 law journals and publications. In addition, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Reports back to 1754 are included. Other portions of the database are dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, American Indian law and much more.
Target audience: all students

September 25  - Lexis
LexisNexis is a powerful legal research tool, providing full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference sources. Billions of searchable documents and records are available from more than 45,000 legal, news and business sources, including medical & health, federal, state & international legal materials and corporate news & financial information. 

Session 1: - 11:00 - 11:35 a.m. Room 203 (Molbert)
Target audience: 1L students
Introduction to Lexis, a demonstration of the basics and other key features
Session 2: - 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., Room 203 (Molbert)
Target audience, 2L & 3L students
Advanced features and resources will be explained and demonstrated

October 2 - Court Documents (Bloomberg Dockets, PACER, ND & MN Odyssey)
This session will demonstrate resources for accessing and searching electronic records and documents filed in state and federal courts. Coverage will include an overview of Bloomberg Dockets, PACER, and ND Odyssey. 
Target audience: all students

October 9 - Westlaw
West is the foremost provider of e-information and solutions to the U.S. legal market. Lawschool.westlaw.com is the virtual law school community where law students and faculty can access a variety of legal resources including Westlaw, The West Education Network (TWEN), current legal news, career services and other content.

Session 1: - 11:10 - 11:40 a.m. Room 203 (Molbert)
Target audience: 1L students
A demonstration of basic and key features geared to supplement instruction received in Lawyering Skills class.

Session 2: - 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., Room 203 (Molbert)
Target audience, 2L & 3L students
For those familiar with the basics, advanced features, resources and new products will be demonstrated.

October 23 - Legal periodicals searching / accessing
This session will cover searching and accessing legal periodicals, along with locating materials in non-law databases. Search tips will be provided for using ODIN (our law library catalog) as well as Legaltrac, HeinOnline and other legal research sites. If time permits, we will reach into searching within other University databases related to other interest areas.
Target audience: all students, especially those conducting research for interdisciplinary writing projects

November 6 - Legislative Materials
This session will provide an overview of accessing state and federal legislative materials. Materials covered will include information on interim committee work, bill versions, committee hearings and publications, and a brief overview of locating legislative history.
Target audience: all students

Spring 2019 Schedule: 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., Room TBA

January 15 - Trial practice materials - Trial
This session will discuss electronic and print resources related to civil practice. Coverage will include practice forms, as well as materials useful in conducting client and expert interviews and testimony, creating checklists, documents, and sample questions from discovery through trial and appeal. Resources covered: Pleading and Practice forms, Causes of Action, Trials, Proof of Facts and more.
Target audience: all students, especially those involved in Moot Court, Trial Advocacy, or working in law firms with a focus on trial and appellate work

January 22 - Appellate practice materials
An in-depth demonstration of the breadth of the materials available.
Target audience: all students

February 5 - Historical caselaw & materials
This session will delve into accessing and researching historic cases and foundational materials in the law. The legal profession is built upon historical precedents. A deeper historical perspective allows for broader understanding of the practice of law.
Target audience: all students

February 12 - Casemaker X
North Dakota, along with more than 25 state and local bar associations, provides its licensed attorneys access to Casemaker as part of their the state bar membership. The service provides low-cost legal research in the U.S. Casemaker libraries include all Federal Supreme, Circuit, District, Bankruptcy decisions, and more. Casemaker’ s state libraries are comparable to the high-cost providers in many cases going back 100 years or more.
Target audience: all students, especially those students and 2019 graduates who may be working in firms with limited access to other major legal databases

April 9 - Westlaw - Practice Ready Package
Graduates of the UND School of Law will have access to a Practice package from Westlaw for 18 months after graduation. This service provides access to experiential legal tools designed to assist in working through complex legal questions. Included in the package are how-to guides, practice notes, standard documents and clauses, drafting essentials, checklists, expert resources, and more.
Target audience: all students, especially those graduating in spring or fall 2019