Article impact
Article impact refers to...
the process of judging the quality or impact of an article (or other research work) by counting the number of times other authors have cited it in their work. Article impact can be found via databases such as Scopus and Google Scholar.
People usually talk about "citation counts" as being the traditional metric used to determine article impact. On the bottom of the page, see a list of databases the library subscribes to which provide article citation counts.
Selected article impact databases
Selected UND Libraries' databases with limited citation count information for articles
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to journals published by Elsevier Science.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides citation counts through its "Cited By" link associated with every article in a results list.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowIEEE journals and conference proceedings in aerospace, electrical engineering, computer science, and other technologies.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window"Cited References" tab (at the top). Within this feature you can "Find Citing Articles" for a specific marked citation. Also there are Cited References links with each article. PlumX Metrics' altmetric Plum Print is also available via the EBSCOhost interface.
- Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new windowPLOS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literaturefreely available to the public, publishing several high quality open access journals. PLOS ONE publishes original research in all scientific disciplines, including interdisciplinary research, negative results and replication studies.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE biomedical database. Molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
- SciFinder-N This link opens in a new windowFirst timeusers must self register using their UND.edu email address. Offers access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowMetrics include CrossRef citations and altmetrics (Altmetric score by Altmetric).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for books and articles from vetted, high quality sources in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author, journal, and book metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Now includes Book Citation Index.
PlumX Metrics
EBSCOhost Research Databases (e.g. Academic Search Premiere, PsycINFO, America: History and Life, CINAHL) and Scopus are now employing Plum Analytics' PlumX Metrics, which can be viewed in some databases via the Plum Print and PlumX Metrics (altmetrics) sections of an article result.
Academic Search Premiere (EBSCOhost) article-level view of PlumX Metrics:
Learn more about PlumX Metrics and other altmetric tools: Research Impact - Altmetrics Research Guide.
Hot Topics
- What’s Up with Data Citations?May 28 2018. The Scholarly Kitchen blog. Should you include your data in your reference list?
- Turning a Critical Eye on Reference ListsOctober 5 2017. Angela Cochran. From The Scholarly Kitchen blog.
- If We don’t Know What Citations Mean, What Does it Mean when We Count Them?August 4 2015. Karin Wulf. From The Scholarly Kitchen blog.