September 2025 Vol. 1 No.4
Fostering Clinical Excellence with Comprehensive Library Resources
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Spotlight on TRANSCEND
The goal of TRANSCEND is to bring together researchers and clinicians from across the region to develop innovative approaches to combating disease and addressing health challenges in North Dakota. By fostering collaboration between clinical and basic researchers, TRANSCEND supports the advancement of clinical and translational research with the potential to directly impact patient care and outcomes.
Why should clinical faculty pay attention?
TRANSCEND provides a variety of opportunities to support your professional and academic work, including:
Access to grant funding
Didactic sessions to enhance skills in clinical and translational research
Mentorship programs (as both mentors and mentees)
Networking and collaboration opportunities
Whether you are interested in advancing research, expanding your skill set, or strengthening mentorship connections, TRANSCEND is a resource to help you grow as both a clinician and scholar.
TRANSCEND is supported by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health under Award Number 1P20GM155890-01.
Check out their website: https://med.und.edu/research/transcend/mentorship-program.html
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
SMHS Researchers Share Expertise
Have you thought about conducting a systematic or scoping review? These review types have become increasingly common in health sciences research, but navigating the process can be challenging.
This past June, SMHS hosted two faculty panels where researchers shared their experiences with collaboration, tools, and grey literature searching. Themes from these discussions will help shape future workshops on systematic and scoping reviews.
Read more and see the full list of panelists in our blog post: https://blogs.und.edu/health-library/2025/07/17/smhs-researchers-share-expertise/
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Resource Highlight: AccessCardiology
McGraw Hill’s AccessCardiology provides faculty with authoritative, continuously updated cardiology resources to support teaching, research, and clinical practice. Available both on- and off-campus (and through the Access mobile app), this collection makes it easy to integrate trusted materials into your work anytime, anywhere.
AccessCardiology includes:
Fuster and Hurst’s The Heart and other key reference texts
ECG resources and interpretation tools
Board review Q&A and interactive cases
Videos, flashcards, and visual summaries
Whether you are preparing lectures, mentoring students, or seeking reliable references for patient care, AccessCardiology offers a comprehensive set of tools at your fingertips.
Resource Spotlight: AccessAnesthesiology
For faculty teaching anesthesiology or looking to expand their expertise in the specialty, AccessAnesthesiology is an essential resource. Part of McGraw Hill’s trusted AccessMedicine platform, it provides unlimited, continuously updated content accessible on- and off-campus, on any device.
The platform includes hundreds of authoritative resources, such as leading textbooks, interactive cases, videos, and study tools—designed to support teaching, learning, and clinical practice.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Graphic Medicine – Comics in Healthcare
The National Library of Medicine’s Graphic Medicine: Ill-Conceived & Well-Drawn! exhibition showcases a compelling collection of comics that explore real experiences of illness, caregiving, and recovery. Featuring works by artists such as Alison Bechdel (Fun Home) and David B. (Epileptic), the exhibition demonstrates how words and images together can convey complex medical and emotional experiences.
For faculty, this collection offers a valuable teaching resource. Graphic medicine provides unique insights into patient perspectives, enhances understanding of the human side of care, and can even support patient education by explaining conditions and treatments in a relatable way. Whether your focus is clinical care, patient communication, or the medical humanities, this exhibition is both educational and inspiring.
Explore it here: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/exhibition/graphicmedicine/index.html
Additional Resource: GraphicMedicine.org
Looking for a unique way to explore patient experiences and medical storytelling? GraphicMedicine.org is a platform founded by Dr. Ian Williams, a physician and comics artist, that highlights the intersection of comics and healthcare. The site features comic reviews, educational materials, conference information, and a syllabus repository for integrating graphic medicine into learning.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Continuing Education (CME/CE) Resources
Several of the research databases that we provide offer CME credits at no additional charge. We've created a research guide with more information about these resources and instructions for earning credit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Generic License.
