Family Medicine Residency (Fargo)

• Case Files: Family Medicine, 5th Edition 
• The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition
• Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Family Medicine, 5th Edition
• Essentials of Family Medicine, 7th Edition
• Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5th Edition
• Implementing High-Quality Primary Care
• Macleod's Clinical Examination, 15th Edition
• SOAP for Family Medicine, 3rd Edition
• User's Guide to the Medical Literature

Library Book Catalog: This link allows you to search and have access to UND's Library Resources for specific electronic book titles.
You can search by book title or by subject.

• AccessMedicine: Medical titles, images and videos, case files, diagnostic tools, and drug database.
• Anatomy.tv: Primal Pictures Anatomy.tv provides a 3D atlas of human anatomy, a 3D real-time interactive tool through which you can layer and remove organ systems, and several other helpful modules, including an imaging module and a quizzing module.
• ClinicalKey: Evidence based search that provides health care professionals with point-of-care answers.
• Embase: Index of peer-reviewed biomedical literature
• PubMed: Health and life sciences journal article search.
• VisualDx: Database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases.

• American Family Physician (2008-present)
• Annals of Family Medicine (2003-2023)
• Family Medicine (2023-present)
• Family Medicine and Community Health (2019-present)
• Family Practice Management (1997-present)

• Patient Education from Medline Plus is an online resource for patients providing easy to read information on health conditions, wellness conditions, etc., as well as videos.
• Access Medicine has patient education handouts on various topics as well as specialty-specific patient education handouts.
  • Access Medicine also includes a variety of Infographics for a quick visual synopses of various health conditions.

UND's School of Medicine and Health Sciences focuses on these five areas for social determinants of health:

• Opioid Use Disorder
• Addiction and Substance Use Disorder
• Anxiety, Depression, and Suicide
• Adverse Childhood Experiences
• Obesity

For background information on Social Determinants of Health:

• This Book Chapter explains concepts of food shortages, transportation challenges, lack of access to care, physician difficulty providing resources to patients, and more from an Emergency Department perspective.
• Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, and Populations 
• The Rural Health Information Hub's SODH Toolkit for Rural People provides resources and program models to address a variety of social determinants of health in rural communities. The RHI Hub also provides the following resources:
  • Guide from Center for Rural Health
  • Developing culturally competent services
  • Social Determinant of Health

Culture information for different ethnicities and regions:

• CultureCard - a guide to build cultural awareness about American Indian and Alaska Native populations
• Book - History of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. The book includes coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing.
• Minority Profiles
  • Black/African American Health in the United States (pdf)
  • Asian American Health in the United States and Territories (pdf)
  • Hispanic/Latino Health in the United States (pdf)
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander Health in the United States and U.S. Territories (pdf)
  • American Indian & Alaska Native Health in the United States (pdf)

• American Academy of Family Physicians
  • The mission of the AAFP is to improve the health of patients, families, and communities by serving the needs of members with professionalism and creativity. Career links, practice resources, Board Review prep, and more are available through the AAFP.
• North Dakota Academy of Family Physicians
  • The mission of the NDAFP is to champion the Family Physicians of North Dakota in the delivery of excellent health care. The NDAFP Foundation provides awards, opportunities for continuing education and AAFP membership dues.