Education Journals
Both academic journals and practitioner journals are useful when looking for research on topics in education.
There are some differences:
- Academic journals publish articles which focus on research. These will often have a specific format (introduction, methods, results, and discussion) and a lengthy list of references. These articles are frequently peer-reviewed.
- Practitioner journal articles are written to reach those working in the field and will have information on practical and engaging instructional methods or trends in the field. These articles will also have references but tend to be fewer.
Need help finding articles for your research? Send an email to the Subject Librarian or or ask a librarian around the clock using the Ask Us 24/7 chat service. If you need an article from a journal not available through the UND library, request it for free through our interlibrary loan service.
If you want to find a specific journal, to search within it or browse the current issues, use the search bar on the main library webpage: enter the journal name and click "Journal Titles" as the search option (from the list that appears below the entry):
Education practitioner journals feature articles written by educators on trends, changes, and innovative practices in the field. These journals can be excellent resources for educators on instruction, curriculum design, and effective and engaging activities for the classroom.
Below are some of the practitioner & professional journals that publish on a variety of topics within education available through UND subscriptions.
For assistance finding additional journals, send an email to the Subject Librarian or get assistance around the clock using the Ask Us 24/7 chat service.
If you need an article from a journal not available through the UND library, request it for free through our interlibrary loan service.
- American School Boards Journal (NBSA)Provides information on the complex issues facing educators today including education trends, student achievement, curriculum development, school finance, etc.
- American Secondary EducationServes administrators, teachers, and others. Examines current issues in secondary education and focuses on the major issues facing those involved with secondary education.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link works:
https://und.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/view/action/uresolver.do?operation=resolveService&package_service_id=3181536510006076&institutionId=6076&customerId=6065 - Educational LeadershipArticles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
- Journal of Experiential EducationCovers outdoor adventure programming, service learning, experimental school-based programming, environmental education, cultural journalism, internships & the creative arts.
- The Learning Professional (Learning Forward)Flagship publication of Learning Forward, an association "focused on the most critical lever for improving schools -- building the knowledge and skills of educators."
- Mathematics TeachingConcerned with classroom approaches to mathematics teaching. Contains articles written by primary & secondary classroom teachers as well as advisors & other with links with mathematics education.
- Principal Leadership (NAASP)Provides practical, hands-on strategies for improving schools in a constantly evolving educational environment.
- Reading TeacherThe Reading Teacher (RT) provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. RT’s classroom-ready articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.
- Rethinking SchoolsNonprofit magazine dedicated to social justice teaching and activism.
- The School Superintendents Association (AASA)AASA Journal of Scholarship & Practice is published through the AASA Leadership Development Office and is a refereed, blind-reviewed, quarterly journal with a focus on research and evidence-based practice. It is designed to benefit AASA members and full-time and adjunct professors.
- Science and ChildrenFeature articles selected through peer review, commentary, software reviews, product reviews, on preschool through middle school science teaching.
- Science TeacherFeatures articles for high school science educators, interviews, mentoring, recent news notes, book reviews, and National Science Teachers Association news.
- Social EducationSocial Education contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas. The award-winning resources include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines.
- Teaching Children MathematicsOfficial journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and excellent resource for elementary school teachers.
- Teaching Exceptional ChildrenTeaching Exceptional Children (TEC) features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning.
Academic journals in education feature articles written by researchers which focus on the latest scholarship in the fields of teaching and learning. These journals can be excellent resources for educators on measurement and evaluation, policy, leadership and decision-making, human development, theoretical and conceptual foundations, and institutional structures.
Below are some of the academic journals on topics within education included in UND subscriptions.
For assistance finding additional journals, send an email to the Subject Librarian or get assistance around the clock using the Ask Us 24/7 chat service.
If you need an article from a journal not available through the UND library, request it for free through our interlibrary loan service.
- Active Learning in Higher EducationInternational, refereed publication for those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who produce or use research for effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges.
- American Educational Research JournalAERJ is the flagship journal of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), featuring articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning.
- American Journal of EducationSeeks to bridge and integrate the intellectual, methodological, and substantive diversity of educational scholarship and to encourage a vigorous dialogue between educational scholars and policy makers.
- Child DevelopmentThe flagship journal of the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) publishing articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930 for researchers and theoreticians, child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, and special education teachers.
- Educational Administration QuarterlyEAQ publishes prominent empirical and conceptual articles focused on timely and critical leadership and policy issues of educational organizations.
- Educational Evaluation and Policy AnalysisEEPA is a multidisciplinary policy journal that publishes scholarly manuscripts of theoretical, methodological, or policy interest to those engaged in analysis, evaluation, and decision making.
- Educational Researcher (AERA)A peer-reviewed journal from the American Educational Research Association (AERA) that publishes scholarly articles of interest to education research and related disciplines.
- Innovative Higher EducationFeatures research on current organization and policy level innovations relevance for action for higher education institutions, including improvements for diversity, equity, and inclusion in higher education.
- International Journal of STEM EducationProvides a unique platform for sharing research regarding the design and implementation of technology-rich learning environments, innovative pedagogies, and curricula in STEM education that promote successful learning in Pre K-16 levels including teacher education as well as studies that address specific challenges in improving students’ achievement, approaches used to motivate and engage students, and lessons learned from changes in curriculum and instruction in STEM education.
- The Internet and Higher EducationQuarterly peer-reviewed journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to Internet-enabled learning and teaching in higher education settings.
- Journal of Adolescent & Adult LiteracyHighlights innovative, peer-reviewed, research-based practices aimed at improving engagement and achievement among literacy learners ages 12 and older.
- Journal of Educational PsychologyPublishes original, primary research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels, plus the occasional publication of exceptionally important theoretical and review articles pertinent to educational psychology.
- Journal of the Learning SciencesOne of the two official journals of the International Society of the Learning Sciences ( www.isls.org) which provides a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning that informs theories of how people learn and the design of learning environments.
- Journal of Research on Leadership EducationElectronic peer-reviewed journal that provides an international venue for scholarship and discourse on the teaching and learning of leadership across the many disciplines that inform the field of educational leadership.
- Review of Educational ResearchPublishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research.
- Review of Research in EducationAnnual publication provides a forum for analytic research reviews on selected education topics of significance to the field. Each volume addresses a topic of broad relevance to education and learning that critically examine diverse literatures and bodies of knowledge across relevant disciplines and fields.
- Teacher College RecordJournal of research, analysis, and commentary in the field of education, published continuously since 1900 by Teachers College, Columbia University.
How to find specific journals
To find journals that the Library subscribes to, search by journal title or by keyword and select Journal Titles from the drop-down menu:
If we have access to the journal, the title will appear with links to where you can access issues.
Pro-tip: To limit to peer-reviewed journals, select "Peer-reviewed Journals" under "Availability" in the left hand column on the search results page.