Research Guides: Communication: Discipline-Specific Communication

Health Communications Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias

Within Credo Reference there are many health resources, such as:

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Publication Date: 2007
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Health Studies
Publication Date: 2010
Key concepts in public health
Publication Date: 2009

Print Resources

For Reference books, read and scan the articles (no checkout):

Encyclopedia of Health Communication
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (RA423 .E528 2014 )

Publication Date: 2014

Databases Unique to Health Communication

PsycINFO (APA)
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly, full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline Complete
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases."

Search Journal of Health Communication and Health Communication via PsychInfo

Get citation
Use the online Interlibrary Loan form
Quickly get the article via email

Materials on Heath Communication Topics are generally located in the following areas:

3rd floor General Collection

RA 440 Public Health

Public health communication : evidence for behavior change
Call Number: RA440.5 .P83 2001

Main Campus Library
Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message
Call Number: RA440 .O825 2005

Main Campus Library

Initiatives

Healthy People 2020
Improving the Health of Americans
Rural Health Information Hub
A national clearinghouse on rural health issues. Contains rural health news, topic guides, organizations, events, and funding opportunities related to rural health.

Datasets

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
World’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS)
A service of the National Cancer Institute, HINTS "collects national representative data routinely about the American public's use of cancer-related information."
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. The fourteen special archives include aging [gerontology], criminology, demography, economics, early education, education, mental health, racial and ethnic minorities [underrepresented groups], psychology, public health, substance abuse, and sociology. To use ICPSR, you will need to create a free user account.

Interpersonal Communications Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias

Within Credo Reference there are several social science resources, such as:

The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Publication Date: 2006

Print Resources

The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference P94.7 .I55 2016

Publication Date: 2016
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Theory and Philosophy
Call Number: Ref. P91 .I575 2016

Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of group processes & intergroup relations
Call Number: Reference HM716 .E53 2010

Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (HM1106 .E53 2009)

Publication Date: 2009

3 volume set on human relationships, including entries such as Economic Pressures, Effects on Relationships
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
Call Number: Reference HM1121 .E57

Publication Date: 2008
The Cambridge handbook of personal relationships
Call Number: Floor 3 General Stacks HM1106 .C36 2006

Publication Date: 2006
The SAGE handbook of gender and communication
Call Number: Floor 3 General Stacks P96.S48 S34 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Databases Unique to Interpersonal Communication

PsycINFO (APA)
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
Psychotherapy.net
A library of over 300 training videos featuring master psychotherapists conducting therapy.

Journal of Social and Personal Relationships
Online articles from 1999 to present
Personal Relationships
Online articles from 1997 to present
Journal of Nonverbal Behavior
Online articles from 1997 to present

Center for Nonverbal Studies
Features a Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs, and Body Language Cues

Intercultural Communications Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias

Within Credo Reference there are several cultural resources, such as:

The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction
Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of sex and gender: men and women in the world's cultures
Publication Date: 2003

Country Studies Collection
80 digitized books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division. Books describe and analyze the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.

Print Resources

Visit the Reference area (2nd floor), read and scan the articles:

Countries, Peoples and Cultures
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (GN307 .C687 2015)

Publication Date: 2015
Cultures in Conversation
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (P94.6 .C37 2005 )

Publication Date: 2005

Database Unique to Interpersonal Communication

Country Profiles

International journal of intercultural relations
Online articles from 1995 to present

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
"Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics. Sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online."

Comm 102: Communication and the Human Community
by Brittany Fischer Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 48 views this year

Media Studies Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias

Within Credo Reference there are several media resources, such as:

Key Concepts in Media and Communications
Publication Date: 2011
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society
Publication Date: 2015
Media Psychology 101
Publication Date: 2015
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (P90 .J5575 2014)

Publication Date: 2014

Online book and print copy in library.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Publication Date: 2014

Print Resources

For Reference books, read and scan the articles (no checkout):

The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Call Number: P87.5 .I585 2013

Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE handbook of media studies
Call Number: Floor 3 General Stacks P90 .S18 2004

Publication Date: 2004

Databases Unique to Media Studies

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Full text access to Association for Computing Machinery journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings.
Business Source Ultimate
Provides a wide variety of business full-text journals and magazines, including expanded access to Harvard Business Review’s (HBR) top 500 articles. Includes company information on over 1 million public and private companies with case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, and Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys. Offers over 27,000 business videos from Academy of Management, HBR, Bloomberg and IGI Global.

Industry Reports

NetAdvantage
Look for Company and Industry Reports

New Media & Society
Engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research.
Media, Culture & Society
Provides a major international, peer-reviewed forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.

Pew Research Center Journalism and Media
Highly credible nonpartisan source of data and reports

Marketing
by Brian Garrison-Nguyễn Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 167 views this year
Newspapers
by Brittany Fischer Last Updated Nov 25, 2025 1530 views this year
Technology
by Brian Garrison-Nguyễn Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 73 views this year