Civil Engineering

We have a variety of standards from AASHTO in print, primarily in the reference section on the 2nd floor or on the 3rd floor of the library in TE200 or TG. For the most current standards use the AASTHO standards online.

We have a number of manuals related to steel construction from the American Institute of Steel Construction. The most recent one is in reference on the 2nd floor, TA684 .A47, and others are on the 3rd floor in the TA6xx range.

UND purchases select ASCE standards, including the Minimum design loads and associated criteria for buildings and other structures.

We have several of their standards in the reference section on the 2nd floor of the library under TH 7xxx: ASHRAE Fundamentals, HVAC Systems & Equipment, and HVAC Applications. We have additional titles and older editions on the 3rd floor of the library in TH 7xxx range. They also make some standards available for free on their website.

We just have a few titles from the ASME. For more ASME standards, particularly their Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, search their website for purchase options.

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International.
The latest index to the ASTM Standards as well as the print copies of the 2017 ASTM standards are available in Chester Fritz Library. Standards are not necessarily changed each year. Check the online version (this link) to find the standard you need and when it was last updated. If we do not have it in print, you will need to do an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to get a copy.

We have a few, generally less recent codes from them, such as the Structural Welding Code and Bridge Welding Code, and some specifications, including Specification for friction stir welding of aluminum alloys for aerospace applications. For more recent standards, search their website.

Full text of IEEE standards. This link takes you to IEEE where you can browse the standards or connect to a specific standard.

UND has some National Fire Protection Standards. You can also read some of them online by creating a free account, but cannot download them. To request a more current standard, you'll need to do an InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Search for the NFPS code you need. Copy its name and number (e.g., NFPA 11 Standard for Low-, Medium-, and High-Expansion Foam) into the ILL form.

ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization): A UN body that creates standards and other publications regarding air safety, airport construction and operation, and other aspects of civil aviation.

Many are available online for free, with the exception of those developed jointly with other organizations.

Supports interoperable wireless communications. Most of their standards are freely available online.

Provides international telecommunications standards, most freely available online. Topics covered include cybersecurity, internet of things, artificial intelligence, smart cities, and more.

NISO standards are available for free on their website.

Provides free, online access to the Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS).

Provides OSHA standards related to health and safety.

Catalog of standards indexed alphabetically and identified by the alpha-numeric designation of the organization that administered the development work. The electronic version has over 11,000 approved ANSI standards available for purchase. It also contains information about other ANSI publications and services.

Air-conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute. Includes HVACR (Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, & Refrigeration) Industry standards.

Develops standards related to electrotechnology, including fuel cells, superconductivity, wearable electronics, and much more. Standards are available for purchase under the Technical Committees and Subcommittees publications.

ISO sets international standards related to quality management, information technology, environmental management, and more. The ISO 9000 series is probably their best known set of standards. UND primarily has books related to ISO implementation and some standards.

Includes standards related to selecting materials to minimize corrosion, including for pipelines and refineries as well as highways and bridges, wastewater, and more. UND has older publications from NACE.

Find standards related to electrical and medical imaging equipment. UND has a few, older resources from NEMA.

Founded as the Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics, now referred to simply as “RTCA”. RTCA works with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to develop comprehensive, industry-vetted and endorsed standards that can be used as means of compliance with FAA regulations. Standards are available for purchase.

Buy standards related to aerospace and automotive engineering. UND has some handbooks and other resources from them.

Provides standards related to safety and quality testing. Search their catalog online to find standards for purchase.

Check to see the most recent version of a standard.

Provides information on finding standards available for free and for purchase.