Public Health

Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Updated examples to provide students with a relevant context for understanding designs and analyses Conceptual description of analytic procedures used in evidence-based practice as well as tables to demonstrate simple calculations Algorithm for choosing a statistical procedure based on a study's design Diagrams that aim to assist in a student's understanding of experimental and observational design variations Guidelines for critical appraisal of various types of studies Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice, including a focus on sensitivity/specificity and likelihood ratios, number needed to treat, measuring clinically meaningful change Instructor resources: Ebook

Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information. I'm an Opaskwayak Cree from northern Manitoba currently living in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales, Australia. I'm also a father of three boys, a researcher, son, uncle, teacher, world traveller, knowledge keeper and knowledge seeker. As an educated Indian, I've spent much of my life straddling the Indigenous and academic worlds. Most of my time these days is spent teaching other Indigenous knowledge seekers (and my kids) how to accomplish this balancing act while still keeping both feet on the ground.

AVAILABLE AS A PHYSICAL BOOK AT CHESTER FRITZ LIBRARY

AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE

'A landmark in the process of decolonizing imperial Western knowledge.' Walter Mignolo, Duke University To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited second edition, this bestselling book has been substantially revised, with new case-studies and examples and important additions on new indigenous literature, the role of research in indigenous struggles for social justice, which brings this essential volume urgently up-to-date.

Storytelling is an essential tool for reporting and illuminating the cultural contexts of health: the practices and behavior that groups of people share and that are defined by customs, language, and geography. This report reviews the literature on narrative research, offers some quality criteria for appraising it, and gives three detailed case examples: diet and nutrition, well-being, and mental health in refugees and asylum seekers. Storytelling and story interpretation belong to the humanistic disciplines and are not a pure science, although established techniques of social science can be applied to ensure rigor in sampling and data analysis. The case studies illustrate how narrative research can convey the individual experience of illness and well-being, thereby complementing and sometimes challenging epidemiological and public health evidence.

The Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies is the only handbook to make connections regarding many of the perspectives of the "new" critical theorists and emerging indigenous methodologies. Built on the foundation of the landmark SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, the Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. Editors Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln, and Linda Tuhiwai Smith explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two. Key Features * Contains global examples including South African, Hawaiian, Maori, Central African and Islamic ones. * Includes a "Who′s Who" of educators and researchers in critical methodologies. * Provides a comprehensive body of work that represents the state of the art for critical methodologies and indigenous discourses * Covers the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research * Offers an historical representation of critical theory, critical pedagogy, and indigenous discourse. * Explores critical theory and action theory, and their hybrid discourses: PAR, feminism, action research, social constructivism, ethnodrama, community action research, poetics. * Presents a candid conversation between indigenous and nonindigenous discourses. This Handbook serves as a guide to help Western researchers understand the new and reconfigured territories they might wish to explore.

This collection of original work demonstrates the new ways in which particular research methodologies are used, valued and critiqued in the field of race and ethnic studies. Contributing authors discuss the ways in which their personal and professional histories and experiences lead them to select and use particular methodologies over the course of their careers. They then provide the intellectual histories, strengths and weaknesses of these methods as applied to issues of race and ethnicity and discuss the ethical, practical, and epistemological issues that have influenced and challenged their methodological principles and applications. Through these rigorous self-examinations, this text presents a dynamic example of how scholars engage both research methodologies and issues of social justice and ethics. This volume is a successor to Stanfield's landmark Race and Ethnicity in Research Methods.

In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada. Concise and accessible, it is an ideal supplementary text as well as a core component of the methodological toolkit for anyone conducting Indigenous research or using Indigenous population statistics.