Public Health

"...covers the entire scope of the U.S. health care system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations... includes deeper coverage of: Cost and financing issues, with an emphasis on how it impacts the U.S. economy; Public health systems, including a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic's impact on health policy and delivery; Social determinants of health and disparities; Professional burnout and its impact on health care delivery; The Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation..."

"...offers unmatched coverage of every important topic--from infectious disease to economics to war... explores the current burden of disease in the world, how health is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world... New chapters cover such topics as human trafficking, malaria and neglected tropical diseases, surgical issues in global health, and mental health. Every chapter includes Learning Objectives, Summary, Study Questions, and References and, in many instances, practical case examples..."

A complete introductory guide to the principles and clinical application of teamwork in health care Understanding Teamwork in Health Care emphasizes the essential competencies necessary to implement teamwork in health care in a complex hospital or primary care setting. Unlike similar books on the subject which are theoretical or policy-oriented, this text offers practical, real-world coverage. Valuable for health care professionals seeking a thorough explanation of teamwork and for trainers working in hospitals or primary care settings; could also be used as a textbook. Mini-cases throughout the text help readers appreciate real-world application of principles Written to a level suited for the non-specialist

"A complete guide to understanding and applying clinical research results Ideal for both researchers and healthcare providers... addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight... The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples... that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques."

"...designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations... Each chapter integrates key concepts, core competencies, and common pitfalls and concludes with useful lists of web resources and stimulating discussion questions"

Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia contains approximately 257 entries pertaining to important Public Health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, everyday environmental effects and more.

"... explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' "

"... explores the potential of online and digital technologies to serve Indigenous resurgence by contributing to the goals of Indigenous nation building. Based on interviews and discussions with active users of Four Directions Teachings, a website created by Jennifer Wemigwans, A Digital Bundle makes a case for a new online social movement that embraces Indigenous perspectives."

"... extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. Editors Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln, and Linda Tuhiwai Smith explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two. Key Features- Contains global examples including South African, Hawaiian, Maori, Central African and Islamic ones.. Includes a "Who's Who" of educators and researchers in critical methodologies. . Provides a comprehensive body of work that represents the state of the art for critical methodologies and indigenous discourses."

"Land is key to the operations of coloniality, but the power of the land is also the key anticolonial force that grounds Indigenous liberation. This work is an attempt to articulate the nature of land as a material, conceptual, and ontological foundation for Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and valuing."

"This book is an imagining." So begins this collection examining critical, Indigenous-centered approaches to understanding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and Two-Spirit (GLBTQ2) lives and communities and the creative implications of queer theory in Native studies."

"... This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information..."

"In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada."

"The majority of scholarly and activist opinion by and about Indigenous women claims that feminism is irrelevant for them. Yet there is also an articulate, theoretically informed and activist constituency that identifies as feminist. This book is by and about Indigenous feminists, whose work demonstrates a powerful and original intellectual and political contribution demonstrating that feminism has much to offer Indignenous women in their struggles against oppression and for equality. Indigenous feminism is international in its scope: the contributors here are from Canada, the USA, Sapmi (Samiland), and Aotearoa/New Zealand. The chapters include theoretical contributions, stories of political activism, and deeply personal accounts of developing political consciousness as Aboriginal feminists."

"Using a range of historical, literary, and legal texts, the contributors to Critically Sovereign trace the ways in which gender is inextricably linked to Indigenous politics and U.S. and Canadian colonialism, showing how gender, sexuality, and feminism work as co-productive forces of Native American and Indigenous sovereignty, self-determination, and epistemology."

"Introduces key terms, concepts, debates, and histories for Disability Studies. Keywords for Disability Studies aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond."

"... this book challenges how disability has historically been represented and understood in philosophy: it critically undermines the detrimental assumptions that various subfields of philosophy produce; resists the institutionalized ableism of academia to which these assumptions contribute; and boldly articulates new anti-ableist, anti-sexist, anti-racist, queer, anti-capitalist, anti-carceral, and decolonial insights and perspectives that counter these assumptions. This rebellious and groundbreaking book's chapters-most of which have been written by disabled philosophers-are wide-ranging in scope and invite a broad readership."

An Open Access edition of this book is available on the Liverpool University Press website and through Knowledge Unlatched. "Disability and the Posthuman is the first study to analyse cultural representations and deployments of disability as they interact with posthumanist theories of technology and embodiment."

"The much-anticipated follow up to the groundbreaking anthology Disability Visibility- another revolutionary collection of first-person writing on the joys and challenges of the modern disability experience, and intimacy in all its myriad forms."

"An eye-opening portrait of the diverse disability community as it is today, and how disability attitudes, activism, and representation have evolved since the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). In Disability Pride, disabled journalist Ben Mattlin weaves together interviews and reportage to introduce a cavalcade of individuals, ideas, and events in engaging, fast-paced prose..."

This new edition of the milestone book Education, Disability and Social Policy outlines critical debates in education concerning the position and experiences of disabled children and young people within a contemporary policy context.

"Building Access investigates twentieth-century strategies for designing the world with disability in mind. Commonly understood in terms of curb cuts, automatic doors, Braille signs, and flexible kitchens, Universal Design purported to create a built environment for everyone, not only the average citizen. But who counts as "everyone," Aimi Hamraie asks, and how can designers know? Blending technoscience studies and design history with critical disability, race, and feminist theories, Building Access interrogates the historical, cultural, and theoretical contexts for these questions, offering a groundbreaking critical history of Universal Design."

"Women and girls with disabilities find themselves constantly having to deal with multiple, intersectional discrimination due to both their gender and their disability, as well as social conditioning... The book seeks to pay the right attention to the condition of women with disabilities, offering points for reflection, also on the different, often invisible, cultural and social undertones that continue today to feed into prejudicial stereotypes."

"... This report provides an overview of the current status of the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of these immune system disorders in the U.S. population and the relative levels of functional limitation typically associated with them, common treatments, and other considerations."