Skip to Main Content

Special Education Topics - Visual Impairment

How to use this Research Guide

This research guide is meant to help you through the stages of your research. This guide includes information on:

  • Academic Databases
    • To find the best databases for peer-reviewed articles for your research
  • Special Education Journals
    • Includes academic and practitioner journals, with an explanation of differences
  • State and National Education Resources such as:
    • ND Century Code for Education
    • National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
    • U.S. Department of Education
  • Assistive Technology Resources
    • Online resources
    • UND services
  • Research Resources includes
    • Research guides on
      • Literature reviews
      • Citation style guides
      • Citation managers
      • eBook collections
    • Types of Research such as quantitative, qualitative, and systematic reviews
    • Explanation of what peer-review
  • Streaming Videos
    • Chester Fritz Library has access to a large collection of online movies related to documentaries, foreign films, award-winners, training and more
  • Helpful video tutorials
    • search the library
    • database usage
    • know what type of research you're doing
    • learn what peer review is about

There are several guides related to Special Education that might be useful for you beyond what you'll find here.

Can't find what you're looking for?

We can help!

  • You are able to Schedule Appointments with a librarian.
  • Distance Learning Assistance
    • For those living outside the Grand Forks/East Grand Forks Zip Code area (58201, 58202, 58203, or 56721) and do not come to campus regularly
  • 24/7 Ask Us chat service
    • Assistance from a librarian around the clock
  • UND Writing Center
    • Get one-on-one writing assistance, in person or virtually
  • Interlibrary Loan
    • The library can try to acquire a book or article on loan from another library. Textbooks do not qualify.
  • What do I have checked out? 
    • Log into "My Library Account" with your UND credentials
    • See what you have out, when due, and renew

Getting Started and Finding Resources

  • Finding Resources in Chester Fritz Library's website

    Research How Tos page on finding and using resources including how to search the library for books, articles, eBooks, and more.

  • Finding books on education. The Library of Congress shows the general subject area for education is in the L section. Subsequent letters and numbers narrow the subject area and author to a single book.

  • eBook Collections

  • WorldCat - Available from QuickLinks. You can search books from anywhere in the country and request Chester Fritz Library borrow that book for you.

  • Google Scholar Instructions

    • This can be helpful if you're having some issues finding resources on a topic where there might be a limited amount of available published literature or if you've found some good articles but they're not the most recent publications.

      • Look for the Cited By link underneath the article info. This will link you to more currently published material. Look for the PDF or FindIt@UND button to access the articles.           

Finding a Dissertation or Thesis

Finding a Dissertation or Theses