Skip to Main Content

Rehabilitation & Human Services

Research Guides

  • Research Papers
    • This guide covers choosing a topic, choosing resources, as well as how to evaluate and organize the information.
  • Literature Review Research Guide
    • Literature reviews synthesize and analyze what has been written on a particular topic and identify gaps or disagreements in the scholarly work on that topic. Within a scholarly work, the literature review situates the current work within the larger scholarly conversation and emphasizes how that particular scholarly work contributes to the conversation on the topic. The literature review portion may be as brief as a few paragraphs focusing on a narrow topic area. 
  • Ethical Use of Sources in Writing
    • This guide addresses the subject of plagiarism for students and faculty in a more positive manner by empowering writers with knowledge to avoid common pitfalls. Referrals to other campus entities that support learning about this topic is included.
  • Instruments, Tests, and Measurements
    • Best locations to find these materials along with instructions for how to search for them
  • Citation Style Guide
    • There are multiple styles including MLA, APA and Chicago on this guide
  • Citation Managers Research Guide
    • Citation managers allow us to save, organize, and share articles and references. A few of the citation managers that the library promotes are Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote; EndNote is a subscription-based citation manager, Zotero and Mendeley are free to use.
    • The Zotero Research Guide will take you to the library's recommended choice.
  • eBook Collections
  • Finding Images provides links to free sources and instructions on how to attribute their use

 

Two examples of Literature Reviews are:

Types of Research

If your research requires human participation (such as a survey or focus group), your research will need to be approved by UND's Institutional Review Board. You will also need to complete their IRB training prior to seeking approval for your research study.

  • Systematic Reviews & Meta-analyses /meta-synthesis
  • Quantitative
    • UND Research & Survey Tools provides information about
      • Qualtrics (for collecting and analyzing survey data)
      • SPSS (stastistical analysis software available through Citrix Workspace)
        • Videos put out by TTaDA
      • MATLAB (used for programming and data analysis).
  • Qualitative
    • PsycInfo is a good library database to start with.

      • Many academic databases do not have an easy way to limit to qualitative research. However, you can add qualitative research terms to your search topic to find them. For example:

        • (student learning) AND (survey* OR questionnaire* OR interview* OR coding OR framing OR “focus group” OR "focus groups")

    • UND Software Store, free or discounted software including NVivo, a qualitative coding software package.

What is Peer-Review?

  • A process by which an article is evaluated by experts in the field, i.e., the author's scholarly peers. The reviewers provide their opinion on whether the article should be published. Articles from peer-reviewed journals should be more trustworthy than materials from sources that are not reviewed, such as newsletters or most websites.
  • Learn more with the video at the bottom of Helpful video tutorials

How do I search for peer-reviewed articles?

  • Some (not all) databasess allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. First, run your search. 
  • On the results screen, you'll see ways to limit your search on the left-hand side of the screen. 
  • Click on the limit labeled "Peer Reviewed" under "Availability

To search more than one database at the same time

Your research topic might involve using articles from different disciplines. By searching in other databases (ex: if you're researching school counseling, you might want to search in ERIC and PsycINFO at the same time), you can cast a wider net and find relevant articles.

  • Select Choose Databases
  • Click the box next to the other databases you want to use at the same time
  • Press Ok
  • Click the Search button to re-do your search with the same keywords