ND Newspapers in print and microfilm in CFL
Print newspapers are located on the 1st Floor. Microfilm is in storage. Ask at the Service Desk on 2nd Floor for assistance.
Bismarck Tribune 1873-2016 on microfilm plus current and previous 2 months in print. We no longer receive this title on microfilm.
Fargo Forum 1891-2016 on microfilm plus current and previous 2 months in print. We no longer receive this title on microfilm.
Minot Daily News 1917-2016 on microfilm with some gaps in coverage.
Grand Forks American 1918-1920 on microfilm
Grand Forks Herald 1879- present. Replaced by microfilm after 3 months
Grand Forks Plaindealer 1890-1905 on microfilm
Lakota Times 1987-1990 on microfiche
Indexes to ND Newspapers
- US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowSome articles from some ND newspapers.
- Historic American Newspapers: Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowUse to search for historical newspapers and limit to North Dakota and general coverage dates.
- ND Newspapers in Chronicling AmericaLists the titles and full text coverage of North Dakota newspapers in the Chronicling America database, including the Grand Forks Herald (1914-1955) and the Bismarck Tribune (1873-1937).
Online ND Titles
- North Dakota Newspaper AssociationLists and links to all ND newspapers and subscription info. Provides a clipping service and a public notice search
The Grand Forks Herald Newspaper
Grand Forks Herald Access
Access Online Articles:
- To gain full access to online articles and the e-paper version of the grandforksherald.com:
- Visit the library's 2nd floor Information Desk to get logged into the website for full access to online articles, a new e-paper issue 7 days a week, and the e-paper archives from 2008 to present.
- Search for articles using the search bar on the top left side of the page, to filter by date, see next point.
- To do an advanced search for a specific topic or article in the Herald:
- Search the Grand Forks Herald Website by going to Google and adding this phrase to the end of your topic search: site:grandforksherald.com
- NewsLibrary.com indexes the Herald from 1987 to present. Once you find an article, use the Library's website login or microfilm for access
- U.S. Newsstream Newspaper Database indexes and provides some full text from 1991-2015. Once you find an article, use the Library's website login or microfilm for access
- For further assistance searching the grandforksherald.com, contact the Ask Us desk on the 2nd floor of the library.
Access Print Copies:
- Print copies of the Herald are also available in the library:
- 1st Floor Newspaper rack near Oversized Items: current issues of the Herald, printed Saturday and Wednesday as well as the Bismarck Tribune and the Fargo Forum
- 1st Floor Periodicals: latest 3 months
- 4th Floor Special Collections: 1916-1949, as well as the earlier title, Grand Forks Daily Herald
- 1st Floor Microfilm Journals, Ask at Desk, as well as Special Collections - continually updated, starting from the first issue in 1879
Link to the Catalog Search for Grand Forks Herald titled items, including some print indexes
ND College Newspapers - Online
- Dakota StudentUND student newspaper. Archives are on microfilm in the Dept. of Special Collections on 4th floor.
- Dakota Student IndexFrom 1891 to current.
- The SpectrumNDSU student newspaper
- The Red & GreenMinot State student newspaper
- The CollegianJamestown College student newspaper
Archives
- Newspaper archives from ND Historical SocietyThe North Dakota Newspaper Law of 1905 required official newspapers to provide two copies to the State Historical Society of North Dakota.