Research Guides: Newspapers: Finding Articles in Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers)
Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.

Palmer's Index to the Times [London] 1790-1905
Stop by the Ask Us Desk for location

Ethnic Diversity Source
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Newspaper Search

The Library Searches for Everything and Articles exclude results from the library newspaper databases. Instead you are prompted to re-execute the search using the same terms when you scroll to the bottom of the results screen:

The Grand Forks Herald Newspaper

Grand Forks Herald Access

Access Online Articles:

You can read articles from the Grand Forks Herald online through these databases:
- America's News carries full-text articles from the Herald from 1987 to present. You can access the indexed Herald issues here.
- U.S. Newsstream Newspaper Database indexes and provides some full text from 1991-2015 here. Once you find an article, search for a physical copy or find a full-text digital version through America's News.
If you need to access grandforksherald.com specifically for your research, the library can share temporary access:
- Visit the library's 2nd floor Information Desk to get logged into the website
- Search for articles using the search bar on the top left side of the page. For more advanced options, see next point.
To do an advanced search for a specific topic or article in the Herald:
- Search the Grand Forks Herald Website by going to Google and adding this phrase to the end of your keyword search: site:grandforksherald.com
- For further assistance searching the grandforksherald.com, contact the Ask Us desk on the 2nd floor of the library.

Access Print Copies:

Print copies of the Herald are also available in the library:
- 1st Floor Newspaper rack (near the Oversized collection): current issues of the Herald, printed Saturday and Wednesday, as well as issues of the Bismarck Tribune and the Fargo Forum
- 1st Floor Periodicals: latest 3 months of issues can be found here
- 2nd Floor: To read the microfilm journals, place a request at the Ask Us desk.
- 4th Floor Special Collections holds issues dating from 1916-1949, as well as issues of the Grand Forks Daily Herald dating back to 1881

Link to the Catalog Search for Grand Forks Herald titled items, including some print indexes

Indexes to ND Newspapers

US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers)
Some articles from some ND newspapers.
Historic American Newspapers: Chronicling America
Use to search for historical newspapers and limit to North Dakota and general coverage dates.

ND Newspapers in Chronicling America
Lists the titles and full text coverage of North Dakota newspapers in the Chronicling America database, including the Grand Forks Herald (1914-1955) and the Bismarck Tribune (1873-1937).