It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides a wide variety of business full-text journals and magazines, including expanded access to Harvard Business Review’s (HBR) top 500 articles. Includes company information on over 1 million public and private companies with case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, and Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys. Offers over 27,000 business videos from Academy of Management, HBR, Bloomberg and IGI Global.
Full text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
Suggestions for Business Source Ultimate
Operations/Production – Try keywords supply chain, location, plant, speed, outsourc* OR "Contracting out," quality, computer, technology, inventory management system
Marketing – Try subject terms (market* OR advertis* OR “sales promotion”), supply chain, display, and various keywords like (prices OR pricing), physical distribution of goods, warehouses, (sourcing OR materials OR raw products OR cost of production OR buying contracts OR supplier), (renovat* OR layout OR redesign* OR remod*). Limit keywords to the abstract if you are getting too many unrelated results.
Human Resources – Try subject terms (personnel management OR employee* OR "human capital"). Remember also to look at the company's annual report and website for information (employees / careers sections).
Finance – Try the subject term financ*
Top Management – Try searching for people by last name
Proquest Newspapers Database
Use to find current articles on your company
Includes articles from Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and New York Times.
Start with a search for your company. Your results will include a lot of stock market prices; you can get rid of most of these results by excluding Wire Feeds under Source Type on the left side of the page.
Limit your date range to more recent articles.
You can also use the Company/Organization limit to select your company and browse most recent news for relevant articles
Wall Street Journal from Proquest Newsstand (database). Use the Advanced Search tab. Search for Wall Street Journal as a publication title. This will pick up various editions (Eastern edition, European edition, etc.)
Bureau of Economic Analysis - bea.gov (Lots of data but less user-friendly)
Bureau of Labor Statistics bls.gov (Monthly Labor Review, unemployment rates)
FRED (through the Fed of St Louis) (user-friendly data shown in charts over time)
Marketing Data Books
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live- REF HC110 .C6 A675 2013.
The twelve chapters include tables and text describing: Generations, Attitudes and Behavior, Education, Health, Housing, Income, Labor Force, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, Time Use, and Wealth.
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand – REF HC79.C6 B458 2014
Provides demographic data broken down by detailed product category for the United States.
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What? - REF HC110 .C6H68 2013
Examines spending and demographics by product category for the United States.
Use your Company's Website
Look at sections: about us, employment/career opportunities, investor relations (annual report)
Consider policies, training programs, and what is emphasized on the website (diversity, going green, ethical suppliers)