Theatre Arts

How to Use This Research Guide

This guide is meant to assist you in getting started on your research or project.

Use the links below for more general information, or click on the  green  navigation tabs for more specific resources.

General Theatre Resources

Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Reference Manuals

Encyclopedias and reference manuals help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on many art and design and concepts. Also use to find a topic for a paper or project.


Online Encyclopedias

Print Encyclopedias

Historical

Biographies


Literary

Handbooks

Searching For Books

When searching the card catalog and databases use truncation, because the * allows for different word endings: 

theat* will retrieve the following results: theatre, theater, theatrical, theaters

Sometimes resources are described with the subject Drama, you can cover all of your bases by using the operator OR

(drama OR theat*) and mime


Location of Theatre Books in the Library

General Collection (3rd floor)

PN 2080s & 4305s Monologues

PN 1560-1599 Performing Arts, Showbusiness

PN 1600-3310 Drama

General Collection (4th floor) GV 1580-1799 Dancing
Print Journals (1st floor) Use the same call numbers as books. Most are available online.

More Ways to Search for Books

Borrow Books from Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan)

Finding Articles

Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles for theatre topics. Here are some good places to start:

Best Starting Databases for Theatre

Historical and Newspapers


Finding Reviews in Article Databases

  • Make sure you are in Advanced Search
  • Put the name of the show in the search box
  • Scroll to the bottom (you may need to click More Search Options)
  • Look for Document Type: 
    • Review (in Historical NYT)
    • Entertainment Review (in Academic Search)
  • Select that and click Search

Print Tools for Finding Reviews

Search For Play Scripts and Monologues

Using the Primo search box below, some good subject headings to get you started are:

  • Monologues
  • Acting Auditions
  • Pulitzer Prize for Drama

These are shelved in two spots on the 3rd floor: PN2080 and PN4305.M6 


Index to Plays

Older play search tools, browse the ODIN catalog to see titles (you can click Next Page at the bottom)


Collections of Plays

Productions and Costuming


Professional Resources


Digital Collections

Subject Guide

Kristen Borysewicz's picture
Kristen Borysewicz
Contact:
Reference and Research Services,
2nd Floor Chester Fritz Library
701-777-4647
Website