Research Guides: Public Speaking: Topics

Topic Tips

Preparing to present a speech?

Sometimes choosing a topic is the hardest part:

Think about how to make a broader topic manageable and interesting to you (see Organizing your topic below)
Utilize databases such as CQ Researcher to find more information, historical context, and more on your topic.
Do "pre-research" on your topic in Reference Books, Encyclopedias, CREDO Reference, etc.
Browse other online resources arranged by topic listed on this page (Points of View, ProCon.org, Pew etc.)

10 Public Speaking Tips: How to Relax, Focus, and Shine at Your Next Presentation
Copyright © 2019, Purdue University Global, Inc.

Organizing your Topic

Visual Ways to Organize Your Ideas (Topics or Concepts)
Concept Webs (Concept Maps) and other Thought Mapping Diagrams.

How to Create a Concept Map:

U of G Library. 2017, April 27. How to Create a Concept Map. https://youtu.be/sZJj6DwCqSU

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

CREDO Reference

Credo Reference
Online reference tools

Browse Topic Pages in Credo
Similar to Wikipedia, these pages give definitions, history, statistics on broad topics

Differing Points of View

Points of View Reference Center
Viewpoint and analyses of topical issues relating to news and current events.
Writing a Persuasive Essay
How to write persuasively. From Points of View database.
ProCon
Provides the pros and cons of controversial issues shaping our society. Entries are supported with background information that delves into the issue, with pro and con arguments, verified facts and additional reading.

Websites

Politifact.com
Pulitzer Prize winning site that rates political statements with a "Truth-O-Meter." Who will get a "Pants on Fire" rating this week?
HealthNewsReview
Wonder about health-related stories the you see in the news? Here is some independent evaluation
Pew Research Center Topic List
A rich source of recent statistics/polls covering diverse topics related to social and demographic trends from public opinion to technology use.

Encyclopedias & Reference Books

Did you know there are Encyclopedias on Extreme Sports and Witchcraft and hundreds of other topics at the library online and in print? Click on the link below to browse them. Use the search box to find even more.

TIP: Add "encyclopedia" to your search keyword (topic) in your search, like "dance, encyclopedia".

Encyclopedia of World Biography (ONLINE)
Publication Date: 2014
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.