Ethics
Finding Articles
Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles on philosophy.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of important scholarly journals, eBooks and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as originally published.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes 400 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and mathematics and over 50,000 ebooks primarily from university presses.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIncludes multidisciplinary and legal journals, essential government documents, state & federal case law, and international resources.
Good Starting Journals for Ethics
The following are links to specific academic journals which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field.
- Journal of Ethics and Social PhilosophyAn online, peer-reviewed journal of moral, political, and legal philosophy.
- BioethicsPeer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues. Questions are considered on the basis of concrete ethical, legal, and policy problems, and in terms of fundamental concepts, principles and theories.
- EthicsFounded in 1890, Ethics publishes scholarly work in moral, political, and legal philosophy from a variety of intellectual perspectives, including social and political theory, law, and economics. In addition to major articles, Ethics also publishes review essays, discussion articles, and book reviews.
- Studies in History and Philosophy of ScienceStudies in History and Philosophy of Biological and Biomedical Sciences is devoted to historical, sociological, philosophical and ethical aspects of the life and environmental sciences, of the sciences of mind and behaviour, and of the medical and biomedical sciences and technologies.
Online Encyclopedias
The following links will take you to online encyclopedias and reference manuals to help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on philosophy.
Ethics: questions of morality of human actions (online)The third edition covers topics of recent interest to readers in the twenty-first century, such as Heroic medicine, Gender identity, Wealth inequality, LGBTQ issues, Female genital mutilation, Informed consent, and Transgender care. This encyclopedic work includes more than 1,000 essays organized by broad categories related to ethics issues: animal rights, arts and censorship, bioethics, business and labor, children's rights, civil rights, environmental issues, human rights, international relations, legal and judicial issues, the media, the military, personal and social ethics, political and economic ethics, psychological ethics, race and ethnicity, religion, science and technology, sex and gender, theory, and wealth.
- Encyclopedia of EthicsCoverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers.
- The Essentials of Philosophy and EthicsAn important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.
Print Encyclopedias
The library also has a number of print encyclopedias that can be found in the Reference section on the second floor of the library. Reference books cannot be checked out of the library but there are scanners available on the second floor that can be used to scan information from these texts into a PDF which you can email to yourself.
Search the entire library catalog here.
Books on ethics are generally located in these call numbers ranges on the fourth floor of the library.
| BJ1-1725 | Ethics |
| BJ1188-1295 | Religious ethics |
| BJ1298-1335 | Evolutionary and genetic ethics |
| BJ1395 | Feminist ethics |
| BJ1518-1697 | Individual ethics. Character. Virtue. |
| BJ1725 | Ethics of social groups, classes, etc. Professional ethics |