Making an Appointment for a Patent or Trademark Search
You can search for patents and trademarks on the United States Patent & Trademark Office website.
Contact Brian Garrison to schedule a time to meet:
(701) 777- 4642
brian.garrison@und.edu
Patent and Trademark Searching at UND
In 1990, the Chester Fritz Library was designated the 67th U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC).
What does this mean for users? Being a Patent and Trademark Resource Center provides access to examiner-based search systems such as Examiner's Automated Search Tool (PubEAST) and the Web-based Examiner's Search Tool (PubWEST). This allows the University of North Dakota and the greater North Dakota community the ability to view patents and trademarks issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
The PTRC also contains various indexes and informational publications regarding patents and trademarks.
Patents Self Search
You can access USPTO's patents databases through their website. Be advised, though, that they are not full text pre-1976 and as a result it can be difficult to search for historical patents. You are also encouraged to come to the library or give us a call to schedule a search using our search tips and strategies as well as access to the full USPTO databases.
- USPTO Patents Quick SearchSearches patents 1976-present.
- USPTO Patent Images DatabaseIncludes all patents 1790-present in image (TIFF) format. You will need to install a TIFF viewer to properly search this database (see link for below for help)
- USPTO TIFF Viewer HelpSearching the historic patents database is done through searching images in a TIFF format. This requires a special plug in for browsers to be able to see the image. The steps on this page will help direct you to what you need to know
Having Trouble Figuring Patents and Trademarks Out?
The USPTO has helpful information covering both patents and trademarks on their website. See for example, this infographic on the patenting process.
If you're looking to protect your intellectual property worldwide, look at WIPO, the World Intellectual Property Organization.
Some helpful books include:
- Guide to intellectual property: what it is, how to protect it, how to exploit itCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (K1401 .J647 2015)
- Patent, copyright & trademark: an intellectual property desk referenceCall Number: CFL Patents Office. Ask at the Ref Desk (KF2980 .E44 2016)
- Patents demystified: an insider's guide to protecting ideas and inventionsCall Number: UND Thormodsgard Law Library Law Basement (KF3114 .A73 2015)
- Patent searching made easy: how to do patent searches on the internet & in the libraryCall Number: CFL Patents Office. Ask at Ref Desk (T210 .H58 2013)
- How to make patent drawings: a "patent it yourself companion"Call Number: CFL Patents Office. Ask at Ref Desk (T223.U3 L6 2015)
- Patent pending in 24 hoursCall Number: CFL Patents Office. Ask at Ref Desk (KF3120.Z9 S75 2016)
- Trademark legal care for your business & product nameCall Number: CFL Patents Office. Ask at Ref Desk (KF3180.Z9 E43 2016)
Legal Assistance
LegalCORPS Inventor Assistance Program
LegalCORPS’s Inventor Assistance Program was the first program in the United States to provide free legal representation to low-income inventors seeking to patent their innovations with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO).
Independent inventors fuel innovation that can inspire investment and create new businesses and jobs. However, the process of securing patent protection can pose a major hurdle for independent inventors as they try to turn an idea into a commercially viable product.
The LegalCORPS Inventor Assistance Program allows inventors with good ideas to overcome at least one of the financial roadblocks to bringing a new innovation to market. We provide free legal representation to qualifying low-income inventors in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Wisconsin who are seeking to patent their inventions with the USPTO.
