The library provides access to a wide range of databases that contain academic, scholarly and trade articles for you to use in your research for every discipline at UND as well as multidisciplinary databases. The Databases A-Z list provides access to those databases where you can filter by subject or search for the database you need. Additionally, if you need resources outside of traditional academic journals, you can work with your Subject Librarian on finding quality resources.
The librarians carefully curate research guides to assist students in finding resources. We offer a wide variety of research guides for various disciplines as well as general guides for getting started in the research process. The Chester Fritz Library Research How Tos guide provides a great overview of how to find and use sources.
An alternative option to materials that are behind a paywall are resources that have a Creative Commons (CC) license. CC licenses allow researchers the ability to use the resource, and even change it depending on what type of license is applied. You must be sure that the resource you’re using has a CC license and understand what the license allows you to do.
Creative Commons licenses give you permission to use and/or modify other people’s work. There are the six types of licenses. What each of the licenses have in common is that you can use it without cost to you and you must credit the creator. Depending on the type of license, you may be able to do more with the resource. The great thing about CC licenses is that they allow more flexibility with how you can use the source, and this is why it's important to understand what each license allows you to do.
Find more information about Creative Commons Licenses.