Find an Organizational Affiliation throughout the World
For some of the scholarships, you will need to find an affiliate university or organization, such as for the Fulbright.
For the Fulbright, students undertaking study/research awards will affiliate with universities, although in some countries it is possible to affiliate with other types of organizations, such as research institutes or government ministries. Affiliation requirements vary by country, so before starting the application you should note the specific requirements for the Fulbright specific requirements for the proposed host country. Most countries will require a formal affiliation letter that should come from the institution/individual in the host country with whom you are proposing to work. It should be written in or translated to English, printed on official letterhead and should be signed by the author. The following resources will help you find a host country affiliation.
International Affiliations and Contacts
- Fulbright Scholar Directory (specifically for the Fulbright Scholarship)
List of Fulbright scholars since 2010. Information includes the scholar's home institution, host institution, and the topic of their Fulbright project. These are Fulbright Scholars, not student grantees, which means they are faculty, administers, or other professionals who particpated in the Fulbright Scholars program. They may be more open to working with Fulbright grantees or have connections they are willing to share.
- Fulbright Grantee Directory (specifically for the Fulbright Scholarship) Find a project similar to yours and, through a Google search, see if you can determine the name of the previous grantee's affiliation.
- Index of Graduate School Directories
Search graduate programs by curriculum, field of study, subject, school and location.
- UN NGO Database
Non-Governmental Organizations database compiled by the NGO Liaison Office of the Director-General's Office at UNOG.
- Worldwide NGO Directory
"The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) is an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being. WANGO helps to provide the mechanism and support needed for NGOs to connect, partner, share, inspire, and multiply their contributions to solve humanity’s basic problems."
Search for Scholarship in Web of Science
Web of Science is a multi-disciplinary database that allows you to search published scholarly research in many different ways. For instance, you can search for research from an organization (in the image below, Iceland) on a particular topic (in the image below, climate and policy). You can then look at the results to find scholars and universities that are working on research that you are interested in.
HERE IS WHERE YOU CAN SEARCH WEB OF SCIENCE:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for articles from vetted, high quality journals in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author and journal metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Subscription excludes SMHS and Law Library Patrons.
You would be able to find even more results with an Advanced Search.
TS=(climate AND policy) AND OO=Iceland*
Web of Science example:
Where is climate policy research being done in Iceland.
1. Find research on climate policy that is being done in Iceland over the last 5 years:
2. Click "Analyze results" to see charts of the research by organizations.
3. Analyze results by Organization to see where the research is happening.
In this example, University of Iceland has produced the most published research on this topic in Iceland.
Note that some of the institutions are not in Iceland. This search found research that had at least one researcher in Iceland, but when you analyze by organization, it takes into account the organizations of all the researchers.
4. Look at specific research articles
You can find contact information for the authors as well as learning about the research that has already been done on this topic.
