Research Guides: National Scholarship Guide: Choose a Country

Country Overview

You Might Begin with Our Encyclopedia Set on Country Customs, Courtesies, Education & More:

Countries, Peoples and Cultures (link to Online Versions)
Call Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (GN307 C687 2015)
Publication Date: 2015
Central & South America, Western & Central Africa, Western Europe, Central & South America, North America & the Caribbean, Eastern Europe, Middle East & North Africa, East Asia & The Pacific

More Country Research

Find Current News under BBC News or under News Sources under the Essay or Research Information Tab

BBC News: Country Profiles
Current world news & Country profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

CIA-The World Factbook
Lists population, government, military, education, and economic information for nations recognized by the United States.

Country Insights (Global Affairs Canada)
Provides information on history, geography, culture (including business etiquette), politics, and the economy of each country.

U.S. Department of State: Background Notes
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Provides our foreign policy/relationships with countries.

SOURCES WHICH INCLUDE EDUCATION INFORMATION:

International Education by Daniel Ness (Editor); Chia-ling Lin (Editor); Immanuel Ness
Call Number: Reference LB15 .I565 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Includes information about the systems of education in countries.

World Bank EdStats
Education Statistics by the World Bank provides the largest number of statistics on education.
CIA World Factbook
General handbook-type information on different countries, which includes some education statistics.
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Compiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Provides in-depth information, including information about education, although most of the studies may be dated to the 1990s.
UN Data -- Country Data Services
Links to country web sites and various country data sources (often with a translate feature). Education tables on public expenditure and education & teaching staff at primary, secondary & tertiary levels.
UNESCO--UNESDOC Database
UNESCO works to create the conditions for dialogue among civilizations, cultures and peoples, based upon respect for commonly shared values. It is through this dialogue that the world can achieve global visions of sustainable development encompassing observance of human rights, mutual respect and the alleviation of poverty, all of which are at the heart of UNESCO’S mission and activities. Search for documents & find links. Includes in-depth information for recent and dated materials. Some documents are full-text.