Medical Students (M1-M2)

Health Sciences Library
"Preferred and sufficient"

In his lecture on learning objectives, Dr. Carr lists these as the "Preferred and Sufficient" sources for information to include in your LO.

Textbooks - Try searching AccessMedicine or ClinicalKey.

Web-based articles (i.e. websites) where the author, references, date updated are listed. Organizations such as the CDC, Mayo Clinic, American Cancer Society usually do not meet this criteria because no author is listed. Check the References to find any articles they may have quoted in order to get to primary literature.

Primary literature (i.e. journal articles) from reputable journals.​

Appraising a Resource

Answering Background Questions

How Do I Cite...?

Citing information found in an ebook database like ClinicalKey or AccessMedicine.

In Vancouver Style:

If citing a portion of an edited book that was written by a CONTRIBUTING AUTHOR:

Author(s) of the contribution. Title of the contribution. In: Author(s)/Editors(s) of the book. Title of the book [Internet]. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year of Publication [Date of Update/Revision; Date of Citation]; inclusive pagination (or the extent, such as XX number of screens). Available from:URL or Database Name.

Example:

de Cabo R, Le Couteur DG. Chapter 94e: The biology of aging. In: Kasper D, Fauci A, Hauser S, Longo D, Jameson J, Loscalzo J., editors. Harrison's principles of internal medicine [Internet]. 19th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2015 [cited 2016 July 20]. Available from AccessMedicine.

If citing a portion of a book that was written by the e-book author:

Author(s) of book.  Title of book. [Internet]. Edition. Place of publication:  Publisher; Year of publication.  Number of chapter: Title of chapter [Date of Update/Revision; Date of Citation]; inclusive pagination (or the extent, such as XX number of screens).  Available from:URL or Database name.

Example:

Bertorini TE. Neuromuscular case studies. [Internet]. Philadelphia: Butterworth-Heinemann Elsevier; 2008. Chapter 3: Therapy in neuromuscular diseases [cited 2016 July 20]; 77-92. Available from ClinicalKey.

Kasper DL, Fauci AS, Hauser SL, Longo DL, Jameson JL, Loscalzo J. Harrison's principles of internal medicine. [Internet]. 19th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2015. Figure 94E-1, The rates of death in the United States (2010); [cited 2016 July 20]; [about 1 screen]. Available from AccessMedicine.

Citing information from a journal article found in an full-text database like PsychiatryOnline or CINAHL.

In Vancouver Style:

DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. year;vol(no):page numbers. doi:10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

No DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Database Name. Internet address.

Example:

Smith K, Smith P, Cercone S, McKee S, Homish G. Past year non-medical opioid use and abuse and PTSD diagnosis: interactions with sex and associations with symptom clusters. Addictive Behaviors [serial on the Internet]. (2016, July), [cited August 1, 2016]; 58167-174. Available from: CINAHL with Full Text.

 

Citing information from a journal article found on a website.

DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. year;vol(no):page numbers. doi:10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

No DOI available

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Internet address.

Example:

​Rousseau C, Jean S, Gamache P, Lebel S, Mac-Way F, Biertho L, et al. Change in fracture risk and fracture pattern after bariatric surgery: nested case-control study. BMJ [Internet]. 2016 [cited 2016 Aug 1]; 354: [about 12 pages]. doi: 10.1136/bmj.i3794.

Citing an image found in an ebook.

In Vancouver Style:

Example:

The Urbana atlas of pathology [Internet]. Urbana (IL): University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign; c1994-1997. Image No. 034, Left ventricular hypertrophy, heart; [cited 2006 Nov 15]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.med.uiuc.edu/PathAtlasf/CVAtlas034.html

Citing an image found in an image database like VisualDX or AnatomyTV.

Caption below image: "Image source: VisualDX"

Citation at end of presentation/paper:

AnatomyTV [Internet]. LondonInforma PLC, Primal Pictures. Copyright 2016 - . [Image], Neurovasculature of the spinal cord: anterior aspect; [cited 20 July 2016]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://anatomy.tv/GotoView.aspx?productname=interactivespine2014&modelID=-1&mediaID=9518282&structureID=-1&mediaTypeID=4&productID=452.

Medpix [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US). [date unknown] - . [Image], Acute ischemic stroke: Hyperacture stroke, left-sided paresis and hemineglect; [cited 20 July 2016]; [about 1 screen]. Available from https://medpix.nlm.nih.gov/case?id=88854bc4-688b-4f39-acdf-4b534bdb2596.