Resources for Writing
Need assistance with writing and formatting your papers? Reach out to the UND Writing Center to schedule a virtual appointment.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Publication Date: 2020
How We Write by Publication Date: 2015
Bird by Bird by ISBN: 0679435204Publication Date: 1994
Literature reviews synthesize and analyze what has been written on a particular topic and identify gaps or disagreements in the scholarly work on that topic. Within a scholarly work, the literature review situates the current work within the larger scholarly conversation and emphasizes how that particular scholarly work contributes to the conversation on the topic. The literature review portion may be as brief as a few paragraphs focusing on a narrow topic area.
For in-depth information on literature reviews and tips for getting started, check out our Literature Review Research Guide!
Resources for Research
Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education by Publication Date: 2018
Navigating Challenges in Qualitative Educational Research by Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Meta-Analysis by Publication Date: 2020
A Guide to Qualitative Meta-Synthesis by Publication Date: 2018
Quantitative Research
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods by ISBN: 9781473918788Publication Date: 2017Addresses online research methods, such as social media, big data, data visualization, and more.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by ISBN: 9781446282663Publication Date: 2016Covers methodology related to developing and evaluating surveys and survey data.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by ISBN: 9781473916326Publication Date: 2017Addresses everything from the formulation of research questions to the interpretation of findings. Includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters.
UND subscribes to Qualtrics, which is very helpful for collecting and analyzing survey data.
UND also subscribes to SPSS (stastistical analysis software available through Citrix Workspace), and MATLAB (used for programming and data analysis).
You can also access free or discounted software from the UND Software Store, including NVivo, a qualitative coding software package.
If your research requires human participation (such as a survey or focus group), your research will need to be approved by UND's Institutional Review Board. You will also need to complete their IRB training prior to seeking approval for your research study.
- UND Research & Survey ToolsIncludes the Qualtrics login, Qualtrics tutorials, and more.
Qualitative Research
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by ISBN: 9781473952133Publication Date: 2018Great starting point for qualitative research methods.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research Ethics by ISBN: 9781473970977Publication Date: 2018Addresses ethical considerations for qualitative research.
What Is Qualitative Interviewing? by ISBN: 9781849668095Publication Date: 2013
Many academic databases do not have an easy way to limit to qualitative research. However, you can add qualitative research terms to your search topic to find them. For example:
(student learning) AND (survey* OR questionnaire* OR interview* OR coding OR framing OR “focus group” OR "focus groups")
Depending on your topic, you may also be interested in searching a subject specific database, such as PsychInfo. PsychInfo does provide an option to limit by Methodology - Qualitative Study
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
