Research Guides: Biology: Find Articles

Top Databases for Biology

Biological Abstracts
Covers life science and biomedical research literature going back to 1926.
Web of Science
Offers citation tracking with a focus on science literature.
PubMed
MEDLINE biomedical database. Molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.

All open access publications are free for users to access and download.

arXiv.org
arXiv is a distribution service and archive of open-access scholarly articles in quantitative biology and many other scientific fields.
BioMed Central (BMC)
Publishes a portfolio of peer-reviewed open-access journals in biology, health sciences, and medicine. Part of Springer Nature.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Independent, British non-profit index of open access journals from around the world. Be aware that the search function identifies journals, not articles. You will have to go to a selected journal's website to search for articles.
LitCovid
Curated literature hub of PubMed articles pertaining to COVID-19. Articles are updated daily.
microPublication Biology
Open access life sciences journal that publishes novel scientific findings alongside results that are negative, reproduced, lacking a scientific narrative, or perceived to be low-impact. All articles are peer reviewed and assigned a DOI. Featured data are curated and deposited in third party referential databases upon publication, if possible.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS is an open access publisher whose constituent journals include PLOS One, PLOS Biology, and PLOS Medicine. "Research communities" on the PLOS website gather together articles and other research highlights pertaining to a subfield (e.g., ecology).

The following resources will help you explore the research output of major scientific publishers and aggregators.

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

BrowZine
BrowZine consolidates all the scholarly journals in the biomedical sciences owned by UND into one portal. Here, you can explore the variety of journals in the library collection and browse their contents.
Note: UND does not always own the full archive of a scholarly journal, so you may not be able to read every article listed in BrowZine.

Elsevier ScienceDirect
Full-text access to journals published by Elsevier Science.

Wiley Online Library
Search the catalog of academic journals, books, and reference materials available through the publisher Wiley. You can also browse in search of publications or articles pertaining to a certain subject.