Anthropology

This guide has curated a number of resources to assist you in your research.

Included are:

• Academic Databases, Journals, & Encyclopedias where you can find:
  • Information on where to find the books on the shelves
  • Key databases to search in
  • A sampling of academic journals the library owns
• Physical and Biological Anthropology
  • Where to find the books on the shelves
  • Encyclopedias and databases, as well as academic journals
• Archeology and Prehistory
  • Where to find the books on the shelves
  • Encyclopedias and databases, as well as academic journals
• Sociocultural Anthropology
  • Encyclopedias and databases, as well as academic journals
• State and National Resources
  • Museum and Library resources such as the Smithsonian and Cuneiform Digital Library
  • Databases and Repositories for all fields of anthropology and archaeology
• Resources for Research and Writing
  • Helpful research guides on topics such as
    • how to search the library
    • doing a literature review
    • citation style guides and citation managers
  • There's also links to guides on
    • the Library's eBook collection
    • Finding images with free use and instructions on how to attribute them

Other guides that may be useful beyond what you'll find here:

• Geography
• Maps / Mapping
• Country Information
• Sociology

We can help!

• You are able to Schedule Appointments with a librarian.
• Distance Learning Assistance
  • For those living outside the Grand Forks/East Grand Forks Zip Code area (58201, 58202, 58203, or 56721) and do not come to campus regularly
• 24/7 Ask Us chat service
  • Assistance from a librarian around the clock
• UND Writing Center
  • Get one-on-one writing assistance, in person or virtually
• Interlibrary Loan
  • The library can try to acquire a book or article on loan from another library. Textbooks do not qualify.
• What do I have checked out? 
  • Log into "My Library Account" with your UND credentials
  • See what you have out, when due, and renew