Research Guides: WGS 225 Women & Gender Studies -- Global Emphasis: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

These encyclopedias will also provide some background. Search for more on the library homepage or in Credo.

Credo Reference (Library Database)
Online database of Encyclopedias and Reference Sources.

Encyclopedia of world poverty. by Mehmet Odekon. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, c2006.
Call Number: HV12 .E54 2006 CFL Floor 2 Reference

Good overview of Kenya, as well as other countries.
Feminism and women's rights worldwide. by Michele Antoinette Paludi. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger, c2010.
Call Number: REF HQ1180 .F424 2010 -- REFERENCE AREA

BOOKS IN LIBRARY - USE INDEX AT BACK OF EACH VOLUME v. 1. Heritage, roles, and issues -- v. 2. Mental and physical health -- v. 3. Feminisim as human rights. Volume 3 is most useful, followed by volume 1 for 225 topics.
Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues. by Steven Laurence Danver. Armonk, NY : M.E. Sharpe, Inc., 2013.
Call Number: GN380 .N383 2013 CFL Floor 2 Reference

Country overviews provide good background. Use the index to check to see if there are specifics relevant to women.
Routledge international encyclopedia of women[electronic resource] :global women's issues and knowledge.Vol. 1,Ability--Education: Globalization. by Cheris Kramarae and Dale Spender, general editors. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Call Number: REF HQ 1115 .R69 2000 -- REFERENCE AREA

VOL 1 ONLINE BOOK , but only volume 1 is online. MOST USEFUL FOR ALL OF THE TOPICS--You will need the index in Volume 4 to find specific countries. The entire 4 volume encyclopedia is in the library REF HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Saudi Arabia and the Gulf Arab states today: an encyclopedia of life in the Arab states. by Sebastian Maisel and John A. Shoup., eds. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2009.
ONLINE BOOK
Women in developing countries: a reference handbook. by Karen L. Kinnear. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2011.
Call Number: REF HQ1870.9 .K577 2011 -- REFERENCE AREA

Less detailed & useful than books above. Countries & the selected topics don't match up as well in this book.