Skip to Main Content

WGS 225 Women & Gender Studies -- Global Emphasis

Provides global materials for WGS 225.

Books (a selection on specific country/ topics)

Afghanistan--state Building, Sustaining Growth, and Reducing Poverty by William Byrd. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, 2005.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words "gender in afghanistan" or women etc. to click on pages that address the status of women in that country.
Half the sky turning oppression into opportunity for women worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristof. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.
NEW Click eBook Full Text to read. Then use arrows at the bottom to page through book. Use table of contents on the left. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for words.
Heia Kabul! : en kvinnes kamp for livet--og fotballen. by Anders Somme Hammer. Oslo : Aschehoug, 2013.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .H35 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

In NORWEGIAN. Not sure if it deals with the topic. Deals with athletic clubs and social conditions of women in Afghanistan.
Inside Al Qaeda : Global Network of Terror by Rohan Gunaratna. New York: Columbia University Press. 2002.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words women Afghanistan to find & click on pages that address the status of women in that country. Can add lashes, stoning etc. to zero in further.
Islam, Muslims, and America: Understanding the basis of their conflict. by Arshad Khan. New York: Algora Pub., c2003.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words women Afghanistan to find & click on pages that address the status of women in that country.
My forbidden face: growing up under the Taliban : a young woman's story. by Latifa. New York: Talk Miramax Books, 2001.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .L37 2003 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

A personal story that presents living with the domestic violence and Sharia Law of the Taliban.
Origins of Conflict in Afghanistan, The. by Jeffery J. Roberts. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2003..
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words women violence to find & click on pages that address the status of women.
Politics of state intervention :gender politics in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran, The. by Shireen Burki. Lanham : Lexington Books, [2013] .
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Price of honor: Muslim women lift the veil of silence on the Islamic world by Jan Goodwin. New York: Plume, c2003.
Call Number: HQ1170 .G66 2003 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Repression, resistance, and women in Afghanistan. by Hafizullah Emadi. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2002.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .E46 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Excellent book for the topic. Has a chapter on Gender Polity-the Status of Women.
Sharia Incorporated: A Comparative Overview of the Legal Systems of Twelve Muslim Countries by Jan Michiel Otto. Leiden: Leiden University Press, 2010.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Shout out: women of color respond to violence. by Maria Ochoa and Barbara K. Ige. Emeryville, CA : Seal Press, c2007.
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 S534 2008 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Domestic violence is prevalent in families from Afghanistan who have moved to California.
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Addresses our views about domestic violence in Afghanistan in the context of our "war on terror."
Unholy wars: Afghanistan, America, and international terrorism. by John K. Cooley. London; Sterling, Va. : Pluto Press, 2000.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words "domestic violence". Also type in women Afghanistan or "abuse of women" to find & click on pages that address the status of women in that country.
Unholy wars : Afghanistan, America, and international terrorism. by John K. Cooley. London; Sterling, Va. : Pluto Press, 2000.
Call Number: JZ1480.A57 A3 2000 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Same as above in paper.
Veiled courage: inside the Afghan women's resistance. by Cheryl Benard. New York: Broadway Books, c2002.
Call Number: HQ1236.5.A3 B45 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Veiled threat: the hidden power of the women of Afghanistan by Sally Armstrong. New York: Four Walls Eight Windows, 2002.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .A76 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Excellent book for the topic-- Index covers honor killings and women's rights--male violence etc. Information is throughout this book.
Velvet jihad: Muslim women's quiet resistance to Islamic fundamentalism by Faegheh Shirazi. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, c2009.
Call Number: HQ1170 .S48 2009 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Violence against girls and women : international perspectives by Janet Sigal and Florence Denmark. Santa Barbara, California: Praeger, An Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2013.
Call Number: HV6250.4.G57 V558 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Women for Afghan women: shattering myths and claiming the future. by Sunita Mehta. New York; Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan 2002.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .W66 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Addresses domestic violence and talks about the history of women's rights with goals for change.
Women in the Middle East: past and present. by Nikki R. Keddie. Princeton: Princeton University Press, c2007.
Call Number: HQ1726.5 .K43 2007
Women of Afghanistan under the Taliban, The. by Rosemarie Skaine. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2002.
Excellent for giving the restrictions and decrees of the Taliban, as well as women's roles and profiles under those rules.
Women of the Afghan War by Deborah Ellis. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2000.
Call Number: HQ1735.6 .E45 2000 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Deals with honor killings and war conditions. Has a Chronology of Moments from Afghan Women's History. Personal stories.
Women's roles in Asia. by Kathleen G. Nadeau and Sangita Rayamajhi. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood , 2013.
Call Number: HQ1726 .N33 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

In one section dealing with Violence against women, it mentions Afghanistan.
Zoya's story: an Afghan woman's struggle for freedom. by Zoya. New York: William Morrow, c2002.
Call Number: HQ1735.6.Z75 Z7 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Personal story that mentions domestic violence in families.

ASEAN and Human Trafficking: Case Studies of Cambodia, Thailand and Vietnam. by Leiden, The Netherlands ; Boston : Brill Nijhoff, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Cambodia Reborn? : The Transition to Democracy and Development. by Grant Curtis. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution, c1998.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words such as trafficking to find & click on pages.
Female sex trafficking in Asia: the resilience of patriarchy in a changing world. by Vidyamali Samarasinghe. New York: Routledge, c2008.
Call Number: HQ281 .S26 2008 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Gender, conflict, and development. by Tsjeard Bouta and Georg Frerks. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, c2005.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with the words cambodia trafficking to find & click on pages.
Half the sky turning oppression into opportunity for women worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristof. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.
NEW Click eBook Full Text to read. Then use arrows at the bottom to page through book. Use table of contents on the left. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for words.
Human Trafficking in Cambodia. by Chenda Keo. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
LABOUR MIGRATION AND HUMAN TRAFFICKING IN SOUTHEAST ASIA by Willem van Schendel, Lenore Lyons, and Michele Ford. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2012.
Call Number: HD8690.8 .L325 2012
Prostitution, trafficking and traumatic stress. by Melissa Farley. Binghamton, NY: Haworth Maltreatment & Trauma Press, c2003.
Call Number: RC552.P67 P745 2003 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Trafficking in Persons Report by U.S. Department of State.
Publication Date: Annual updates.
Trafficking in humans: social, cultural and political dimensions. by Sally Cameron and Edward Newman. Tokyo; New York: United Nations University Press, c2008.
Call Number: HQ281 .T717 2008 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Although Cambodia is not in the index, the book addresses Sexuality--sex tourism within the transnational feminist analysis.
Women and Sex Work in Cambodia: Blood, sweat and tears. by Sandy Larissa. Routledge, 2014.
Call Number: HQ242.3.A5 S26 2014
Women's roles in Asia. by Kathleen G. Nadeau and Sangita Rayamajhi. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood , 2013.
Call Number: HQ1726 .N33 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Mentions Cambodia on page 165, as well as many general sections on Prostitution, Sex Trafficking, and Sex Tourism in Asia.

Child Marriage in India: Socio-legal and Human Rights Dimensions. by Jaya Sagade. Oxford University Press, 2012.
Call Number: KNS546 .S22 2012
Empowering women in work in developing countries. by Maarten van Klaveren. Houndmills, Basingstoke ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Call Number: HD6223 .K525 2012 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

A recent book that confirms that Child Marriage is ongoing in India. Page 35 on.
Everyday life in South Asia. by Diane Mines. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2002.
Call Number: DS339 .E94 2002 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks

Check the index for Arranged Marriage--changes
FEMALE INFANTICIDE AND CHILD MARRIAGE: India, Rajasthan by Sambodh Goswami. Rawat Publications, 2007.
Call Number: HV6541.I52 R354 2007
Feminist Theory and the Body : A Reader. by Janet Price and Margrit Shildrick. NetLibrary, Inc. c1999
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for "child marriage" to find specific pages.
Gender Equality and Inequality in Rural India : Blessed with s Son by Carol Vlassoff. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Globalisation,Development and Child Rights. by Kailash Satyarthi. Shipra Publications, 2006.
Call Number: HD6250.I42 G65 2006

Kailash Satyarthi is the Nobel Peace Prize winner and founder of the Save the Childhood Movement, the group that works with law-enforcement agencies to rescue child workers and help them rebuild their lives. The shelters run by the organization offer schooling and teach children about their rights.
History of India, The. by John McLeod. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right with words such as child marriage, marriage, or women to find specific pages.
Indian women's battle for freedom. by Kamaladevi Chattopadhyaya. New Delhi: Abhinav, 1983 [i.e. 1982]
Call Number: HQ1743 .C42 1982 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Marriage, Migration and Gender. by Rajni Palriwala and Patricia Uberoi, eds. New Delhi, India; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2008.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Mate selection across cultures. by Raeann R. Hamon and Bron B. Ingoldsby. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2003.
Call Number: HQ801 .M236 2003 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Publication Date: 2003

The book indicates that marital age is getting older within India. Mentions many aspects of mate selection in the Chapter: Mate selection in contemporary India : love marriages versus arranged marriages.
Media, Gender, and Popular Culture in India: Tracking Change and Continuity. by Sanjukta Dasgupta, Dipankar Sinha, and Sudeshna Chakravarti. New Delhi, India; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2012.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Pink Sari Revolution: A Tale of Women and Power in India. by Amana Fontanella-Khan. W. W. Norton & Company, 2013.
Call Number: HQ1743 .F66 2013
Rethinking Agency: Developmentalism, Gender and Rights. by Sumi Madhok. Routeldge India, 2013.
Call Number: HD82 .M333 2013
Status of rural women in India: a study of Karnataka. by Mumtaz Ali Khan and Ayesha Noor. New Delhi: Uppal, c1982.
Call Number: HQ1744.K36 K4 1982 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Looks at our views of India--violence against women, such as dowry murders (which may be done to girls given in Child Marriage) in comparison to our own U.S. violence.
Women's roles in Asia. by Kathleen G. Nadeau and Sangita Rayamajhi. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood , 2013.
Call Number: HQ1726 .N33 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Mentions girls in relation to dowry in India.

From many lands. by Deepa Narayan-Parker and Patti L. Petesch. Washington, DC : A copublication of Oxford University Press and the World Bank , 2002.
Call Number: HC79.P6 V65 2002
Gender, generation and poverty : exploring the 'feminisation of poverty' in Africa, Asia and Latin America by Sylvia H. Chant. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar, 2007.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.D44 C533 2007
Globalization and the poor: exploitation or equalizer? by William J. Driscoll and Julie Clark. New York: International Debate Education Association , 2003.
ONLINE Book. Click PDF Full Text. Can Search within for Indonesia.
Investment in women's human capital. by Paul T. Schultz. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1995.
Call Number: HD4904.7 .I58 1995
NGOs and corporations : conflict and collaboration. by M. Yaziji and Jonathan P. Doh. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Call Number: HD69.S8 Y39 2009

Unilever in Indonesia -- Case illustration : microfinance and poverty reduction
Role of social capital in development : an empirical assessment, The. by Christiaan Grootaert and Thierry Van Bastelaer. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Call Number: HM741 .R65 2002
Women and environment in the Third World : alliance for the future by Irene Dankelman and Joan Davidson. London : Earthscan Pub. in association with IUCN ; Wolfeboro, N.H. : Distributed in the USA by Longwood Pub. Group, 1988.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.D44 D36 1988
Women, globalization and fragmentation in the developing world. by Haleh Afshar and Stephanie Barrientos. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1999.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.D44 W657 1999
Find Books from UNIVERSITY PRESS SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE
Find books such as:
--Spatial Inequality & Development by Ravi Kanbur & Anthony Venables 2005
--The Potitics of Poverty Reduction by Paul Mosley et al. 2012
--Globalization & Poverty by Ann Harrison 2007
--Access to Land, Rural Poverty & Public Action by Alain de Janvry 2001

Champions for peace: women winners of the Nobel Peace Prize. by Judith Stiehm. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, c2006.
Call Number: JZ5540 .S74 2006 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Includes Wangari Maathai, Nobel prize winner who worked with poor women for environmental change--Green Belt Movement.
Commercialization of Smallholder Horticultural Farming in Kenya: Poverty, Gender, and Institutional by Beatrice Wambui Muriithi. Peter Lang, 2014.
Call Number: HD2126.5 .M87 2014
Comparative political economy of development: Africa and South Asia, The. by London; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Call Number: HC800 .C6533 2010 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Covers poverty in sub-Saharan Africa (includes Kenya) and a chapter on tea farming in Kenya.
Eco-heroes : twelve tales of environmental victory. by Aubrey Wallace and David Gancher. San Francisco: Mercury House, c1993.
Call Number: HC79.E5 W27 1993 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Includes Sowing seeds of hope -- Wangari Maathai, Kenya. Wangari Maathai worked with poor women for ecological improvement--Green Belt Movement.
EMPOWERING WOMEN : LEGAL RIGHTS AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES IN AFRICA. by Mary Hallward-Driemeier. Washington: World Bank, 2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
ENTERPRISING WOMEN : EXPANDING ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES IN AFRICA. by Mary Hallward-Driemeier. Washington: World Bank, 2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Ethical trade, gender, and sustainable livelihoods :women smallholders and ethicality in Kenya. by Kiah Smith. London; New York: Earthscan from Routledge, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Flight of the hummingbird: a parable for the environment. by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas. Vancouver; Berkeley : Greystone, c2008.
Call Number: ND249.Y34 F55 2008 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

This is a story embraced by Wangari Maathai, so it gives some information about her in the beginning. Kenyan woman who worked with poor women for environmental change (Green Belt Movement).
Gender, Generation and Poverty: Exploring the Feminisation of Poverty in Africa, Asia and Latin America. by Sylvia Chant. Edward Elgar Publishing, 2007.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.D44 C533 2007
Investment in women's human capital. by Paul T. Schultz. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995.
Call Number: HD4904.7 .I58 1995 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Covers health care & poverty for women in Kenya.
Jua Kali Kenya : Change & Development in an Informal Economy, 1970-95. by Kenneth King. Athens: Ohio University Press, 1996.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for poverty women to find specific pages.
Kenya. Rev. ed. by Dalvan M. Coger and Robert Lewis. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press, c1996.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for poverty women to find specific pages.
Mate selection across cultures. by Raeann R. Hamon and Bron B. Ingoldsby. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications
Call Number: HQ801 .M236 2003 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Mate selection within Kenya is covered. The book does not discuss women in poverty specifically, but it talks about wealth in relation to mate selection in the Chapter: Connecting generations : Kamba and Maasai paths to marriage in Kenya
Nutrition, food policy and development. by Alan L. Sorkin and Ismail Sirageldin. Greenwich, Conn.: JAI Press, Inc., c1994.
Call Number: HD82 .R4 Volume 8 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Health and nutrition related to poverty of women in Kenya.
Seeds of change: planting a path to peace. by Jen Cullerton Johnson. New York: Lee & Low Books, c2010.
Call Number: 921 M1119j CFL Floor 3 Childrens Collection

Children's book-- "A biography of Kenyan Nobel Peace Prize winner and environmentalist Wangari Maathai, a female scientist who made a stand in the face of opposition to women's rights and her own Greenbelt Movement, an effort to restore Kenya's ecosystem by planting millions of trees"
Stepping forward: Black women in Africa and the Americas. by Catherine Higgs, Barbara A. Moss, and Earline Rae Ferguson. Athens: Ohio University Press, c2002.
Call Number: HQ1161 .S74 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Although Kenya is not in the index, Africa is addressed within our views of it being a place of poverty and violence.
Unbowed a memoir. by Wangari Maathai. New York : Anchor Books, 2013.
Online--click eBook Full Text (on the left). Then click the arrows at the bottom to page through it. OR click the magnifying glass at the right to search through it. OR click on things in the Table of Contents.
Urban children in distress: global predicaments and innovative strategies by Cristina Szanton Blanc. Australia ; Langhorne, Pa. : Gordon and Breach, 1994.
Call Number: HV873 .S93 1994 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Deals with Kenyan urban living & poverty for women and children.
Veiling in Africa. by Elisha P. Renne. Bloomington; Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, c2013.
Call Number: BP190.5.H44 V45 2013 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks

Talks about reasons Oromo women refugees from Ethiopia take the veil in Kenya--some reasons relating to wealth & poverty situations.
Women and the Informal Economy in Urban Africa: From the Margins to the Centre by Mary Njeri Kinyanjui. Zed Books, 2014.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.A35 K56 2014

About Nairobi, Kenya.
Women pioneers for the environment. by Mary Joy Breton. Boston: Northeastern University Press, c1998.
Call Number: GE55 .B74 1998 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks

Includes Wangari Maathai, Nobel prize winner who worked with poor women for environmental change--Green Belt Movement.
Women's roles in sub-Saharan Africa. by Toyin Falola and Nana Akua Amponsah. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2012.
Call Number: HQ1787 .F35 2012 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

The section on Market economies, women's roles mentions Kenya. Also, a section on Courtship and Marriage, economic conditions mentions Kenya.
Work and family: an international research perspective. by Steven A. Y. Poelmans. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2005.
Call Number: HD4904.25 .W6625 2005 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

The book does not emphasize poverty situations, but it has a chapter on the work-family interface in urban sub-Saharan Africa : a theoretical analysis.
World of child labor[electronic resource] :an historical and regional survey, The. by Hugh D. Hindman, ed. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2009.
Online book from Credo

Education and gendered citizenship in Pakistan. by M. Ayaz Naseem. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Gender and Education in Pakistan. by Rashida Qureshi. Oxford University Press, 2007.
Call Number: LC2330 .G46 2007
Girls' Education: A Foundation for Development. by Mihirinie Wijawawardene. Commonwealth Secretariat, 2008.
Call Number: LC2572 .W55 2008
I am Malala : the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban. by Malala Yousafzai. New York, NY: Little, Brown, & Company, 2013.
Call Number: LC2330 .Y69 2013 CFL Floor 2 Popular Reading Collection

Nobel Peace Prize Winner.
Literacy development in a multilingual context: cross-cultural perspectives. by Aydin Yücesan Durgunoğlu and Ludo Th. Verhoeven
Call Number: LC149 .L49836 1998 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Muslim World After 9/11, The. by Angel Rabasa. Santa Monica, CA: RAND. 2004.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Can use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for pakistan education in the book. May only find more general information. There is also a chapter about Pakistan.
Politics of state intervention :gender politics in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran, The. by Shireen Burki. Lanham : Lexington Books, [2013]
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Rational believer: choices and decisions in the Madrasas of Pakistan, The. by Masooda Bano. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2012.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Stones into schools: promoting peace with books, not bombs, in Afghanistan and Pakistan. by Greg Mortenson. New York: Viking, 2009.
Call Number: LC2330 .M66 2009 CFL Floor 2 Popular Reading Collection
Taliban revival: violence and extremism on the Pakistan-Afghanistan frontier. by Hassan Abbas. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Three cups of tea : one man's mission to promote peace -- one school at a time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin. New York: Penguin Books, 2007.
Call Number: LC2330 .M67 2007 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Three cups of tea. by Sarah L. Thomson, Greg Mortenson, and David Oliver Relin. New York : Puffin Books , 2009.
Call Number: 371.82209 T485t 2009 CFL Floor 3 Childrens Collection

Young readers ed. For ages 8 & up. An adaptation of the bestselling book about the American Greg Mortenson's building of over 60 schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Sections on Pakistan mention girls and schooling, as well as fabrications in Greg Mortenson's stories about building schools for girls in Pakistan.
Unholy Wars : Afghanistan, America, and International Terrorism. by John K. Cooley.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Can use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for pakistan religious studies or pakistan education in the book. May only find very general information & not specific to Pakistan education for girls.
Unholy wars: Afghanistan, America, and international terrorism. by John K. Cooley. London; Sterling, Va.: Pluto Press, 2000..
Call Number: JZ1480.A57 A3 2000 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Click eBook Full Text to read. Can use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for pakistan religious studies or pakistan education in the book. May only find very general information & not specific to Pakistan education for girls.
Women's roles in Asia. by Kathleen G. Nadeau and Sangita Rayamajhi. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood , 2013.
Call Number: HQ1726 .N33 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

For Pakistan it mentions schools for girls.
World of child labor[electronic resource] :an historical and regional survey, The. by Hugh D. Hindman, ed. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2009.
Credo

Local violence, global media: feminist analyses of gendered representations by Lisa M. Cuklanz and Sujata Moorti. New York : Peter Lang, 20098.
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 L63 2009 CFL Floor 3 book stacks.

Chapter 4 deals with rape and Pakistan.
Politics of state intervention :gender politics in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran, The. by Shireen Burki. Lanham : Lexington Books, [2013]
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Sharia Incorporated: A Comparative Overview of the Legal Systems of Twelve Muslim Countries by Jan Michiel Otto. Leiden: Leiden University Press, 2010.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Violence against girls and women : international perspectives by Janet Sigal and Florence Denmark. Santa Barbara, California: Praeger, An Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2013.
Call Number: HV6250.4.G57 V558 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Check the index for a couple of sentences.

Diaries of an Unfinished Revolution: Voices from Tunis to Damascus. by Layla Al-Zubaidi. Penguin, 2013.
Call Number: JQ1850.A91 W7513 2013
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, The. by David E. Long. Gainesville: University Press of Florida. 1997.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon (on the right) to search for women to find pages that address the status of women.
MOST MASCULINE STATE : GENDER, POLITICS, AND RELIGION IN SAUDI ARABIA. by Madawi Al-Rasheed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2013.
Call Number: HQ1730 .A64 2013
Muslim world after 9/11, The. by Angel M. Rabasa. Santa Monica, CA: RAND, 2004.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass on the right with the words "role of women" or saudi women etc. to click on pages that address the status of women.
National broadcasting and state policy in Arab countries. by Tourya Guaaybess. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan , 2013.
Call Number: HE8700.9.A65 G816 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Talks about the current state of television in relation to women.
Sharia Incorporated: A Comparative Overview of the Legal Systems of Twelve Muslim Countries by Jan Michiel Otto. Leiden: Leiden University Press, 2010.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Society of young women :opportunities of place, power, and reform in Saudi Arabia, A. by Amelie Le Renard. Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Startup rising : the entrepreneurial revolution remaking the Middle East. by Christopher Schröder. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
Call Number: HB615 .S37157 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Talks about some progress made by women in business in Saudi Arabia.
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Looks at the feminist analysis of Saudi Arabian women driving.
Velvet jihad: Muslim women's quiet resistance to Islamic fundamentalism by Faegheh Shirazi. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, c2009.
Call Number: HQ1170 .S48 2009 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks
Women in the Middle East: past and present. by Nikki R. Keddie. Princeton: Princeton University Press, c2007.
Call Number: HQ1726.5 .K43 2007
Women, politics, and power: a global perspective. by Pamela Marie Paxton and Melanie M. Hughes. Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.

Bodily Integrity and the Politics of Circumcision: Culture, Controversy, and Change. by George Deniston. Springer, 2006.
Call Number: GN484 .I584 2006
Female circumcision: multicultural perspectives. by Rogaia Mustafa Abusharaf. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press , 2006.
Call Number: GN645 .F43 2006 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks
Female genital cutting: cultural conflict in the global community. by Elizabeth Heger Boyle. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2002.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Can use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for things in the book.
Female genital cutting: cultural conflict in the global community. by Elizabeth Heger Boyle. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press , 2002.
Call Number: GN484 .B69 2002 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks
Genital cutting: protecting children from medical, cultural, and religious infringements; proceedings of the 11th International Symposium on Circumcision, Genital Integrity, and Human Rights, 29-31 July 2010, University of California-Berkeley by Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, c2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Girl with three legs: a memoir, The. by Soraya Mire. Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, ©2011.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Islam, Muslims, and America : Understanding the Basis of Their Conflict. by Arshad Khan. New York: Algora Pub. 2003. eBook.
Click eBook Full Text to read. Can use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for things such as Somalia mutilation in the book.
Stepping forward: Black women in Africa and the Americas. by Catherine Higgs, Barbara A. Moss, and Earline Rae Ferguson. Athens: Ohio University Press, c2002.
Call Number: HQ1161 .S74 2002 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

See circumcision in the index.
Transnational feminism in the United States: knowledge, ethics, and power by Leela Fernandes. New York: New York University Press, c2013.
Call Number: HQ1155 .F47 2013 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Although Somalia is not in the index, Africa is addressed within our views of it being a place of poverty and violence.
Warrior marks: female genital mutilation and the sexual blinding of women. by Alice Walker and Pratibha Parmar. New York: Harcourt Brace, c1993.
Call Number: GN484 .W35 1993 CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks

Does not provide information about Somalia, but could give some general information about Africa. It covers Senegal and the Gambia River area. One woman came from Kenya previously.
Women in Islam: the Western experience. by Anne Sofie Roald. London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
Call Number: HQ1170 .R63 2001 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Mentions Somalis in Sweden in Female Circumcision chapter.
Women's roles in sub-Saharan Africa. by Toyin Falola and Nana Akua Amponsah. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2012.
Call Number: HQ1787 .F35 2012 CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks

Mentions clitoridectomy in Sub-Saharan Africa, which includes Somalia.

ASEAN and Human Trafficking: Case Studies of Cambodia, Thailand and Vietnam. by Leiden, The Netherlands ; Boston : Brill Nijhoff, 2014.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Disposable people : new slavery in the global economy. by Kevin Bales. Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, 199.
Call Number: HT867 .B35 1999

Includes "Because She Looks Like a Child" by Kevin Bales.
Global woman : nannies, maids, and sex workers in the new economy by Barbara Ehrenreich and Arlie Russell Hochschild. New York : Metropolitan Books, 2003.
Call Number: HD6072 .G55 2003

Includes "Because She Looks Like a Child" by Kevin Bales.
Human trafficking around the world: hidden in plain sight. by Stephanie Hepburn and Rita J. Simon. New York: Columbia University Press, 2013.
Call Number: K5297 .H47 2013
LABOUR MIGRATION AND HUMAN TRAFFICKING IN SOUTHEAST ASIA by Willem van Schendel, Lenore Lyons, and Michele Ford. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2012.
Call Number: HD8690.8 .L325 2012
Sex Trafficking: Inside the Business of Modern Slavery. by Siddharth Kara. New York: Columbia University Press, c2009.
Call Number: HQ281 .K37 2009
Trafficking in Persons Report by U.S. Department of State.
Publication Date: Annual updates--click on report by year (on the left) and scroll down to find the PDF format by Country Narratives
Women's movements in Asia : feminisms and transnational activism by Mina Roces and Louise P. Edwards
Call Number: HQ1726 .W695 2010

CONFLICT-RELATED SEXUAL VIOLENCE : INTERNATIONAL LAW, LOCAL RESPONSES by STERLING KUMARIAN, 2012.
Call Number: KZ7162 .C67 2012
Looting and rape in wartime: law and change in international relations. by Tuba Inal. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, ©2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
RAPE IN WARTIME. by NEW YORK PALGRAVE MACMILLAN, 2012.
Online Book. Click PDF Full Text to read. Use the magnifying glass icon on the right to search for words in the book.
Sex and International Tribunals: The Erasure of Gender from the War Narrative by Chiseche Salome Mibenge. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2013.
Online book. Click READ ONLINE. You can Search within the book & click on the chapters for highlighted results. Use arrows to page through it.
Sexual Violence as a Weapon of War?: Perceptions, Prescriptions, Problems in the Congo and Beyond by Maria Eriksson Baaz. Zed Books, 2013.
Call Number: KTX4545 .B33 2013
WOMEN AND WAR: Power and Protection in the 21st Century by Kathleen Kuehnast. United States Institute of Peace, 2011.
Call Number: JZ6405.W66 W64 2011

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2025 3:49 PM
URL: https://libguides.und.edu/WGS225
Print Page

Subjects: Women & Gender Studies

Tags: Chester Fritz Library, women