Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Help

This guide contains links and instructions for effective searching of selected SMHS databases.

Do you have questions about how best to use the library's electronic databases? This guide is a work in progress. If you don't find what you're looking for, send us an email and let us know. We can prioritize adding your content. We will continue to add pages for additional databases and enhance existing pages as we find helpful information.

How to share links to library resources

Linking to electronic databases and full-text articles is a little more complicated than simply copying and pasting a link from the browser’s address bar.

Our students will be blocked from accessing a resource by a paywall if they are not asked to login to access a resource: proxied links avoid this issue by prompting students to log in to our subscriptions. If proxied links are not used, the library also loses the ability to track usage of that resource, which could affect our decisions about what subscriptions we keep or remove when using patron usage data as a decision point.

  • A proxied link will look something like this:

https://ezproxylr.med.und.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com

  • An unproxied link will look something like this (with no mention of our proxy system: ezproxylr.med.med.und.edu):

https://search.ebschohost.com

Linking to a database

You can get a proxied link to a resource in multiple ways.

Different databases may call the proxied permalink different things – or may have it located in different places on the page. If you ever have difficulty finding the appropriate link, be sure to Ask a Librarian! We’re here to help. Copy the proxy link on any linked resource (including databases) from the library website. The links on the SMHS Library Resources homepage database lists are all proxied permalinks. We’ve packaged them into friendlier URLs, so you can more easily embed them into your classroom materials.

  1. Right-click on the link that you are interested in.
  2. Choose the appropriate option in the pop-up menu:
    1. Firefox: “Copy Link Location”
    2. Chrome: “Copy link address”

You will then be able to paste the link into your document, email, or classroom site.

Linking to a specific article

Click the “Permalink” button on databases like CINAHL to get a proxied link for a specific article.

 

As always if you run into difficulty, Ask a Librarian for help!