Sociology

Since 1973, Freedom House’s flagship annual report, has assessed the condition of political rights and civil liberties around the world for 195 countries and 14 territories. Browse the interactive map with country-specific details, topical articles, or download the full report.

Contains digitized documents of the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

A meta-archive of materials from more than 30 institutions on the experiences of global transgender and gender nonconforming individuals.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to one of the oldest and largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.

A collection of primary sources on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers grape strike including essays by the movement's participants.

A collection of digitized cartoons from Fred Wright, an American labor cartoonist and activist, created thousands of cartoons from 1939-1984 reflecting the politics and labor issues of the day, which were featured in newspapers, union publications, and overseas union activism.

Presents comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients. Interviews reveal what has motivated them to action and how they have organized complex endeavors.

Discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.

Exhibit offering a high-level overview of the history of activism in the U.S. using items from the University of Georgia Libraries. Topics include civil rights, Martin Luther King Jr., women's movements, and LGBT activism. Includes photographs, video clips, and more.

Collection of books, pamphlets, and ephemera produced by and about radical groups in the U.S.

This multi-media web site brings the vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories [with over 80 civil rights activists], hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies, more than 300 pages in all

Digital files of noncommercial radio programs from the 50s and 60s documenting experiences of activists in the Civil Rights movement.

Digital archive of civil rights material related to the Freedom Summer of 1964, including photographs, posters, and visual materials free for nonprofit educational use.

Click on any US county on this interactive map to see migration into and out of selected county. Accompanying article also available.

Organization seeks to stimulate national and international debate; deepen understanding of the causes of chronic poverty; and provide research, analysis and policy guidance. Site includes working papers, policy briefs, toolbox of resources, etc.

The Association for Cultural Equity (ACE) is a nonprofit organization established by Alan Lomax, a musicologist who dedicated his life and career to documentign an dprotecting folk art and music. The site contains sound, video, radio and interview recordings, as well as photographs in the archive of Lomax's life work.

Analysis of killings by police shows outsize risk for young black males. Report by ProPublica, an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.

Collection from the University of North Carolina's Southern Oral History Program. Almost 500 oral history interviews collected over many decades. Six thematic groupings include Charlotte, Civil Rights, Environmental, Transformations, Piedmont, Industrialization, Southern Politics, & Southern Women.

A collaboration of scholars, survivors, students, and community partners in challenging eugenics. Site includes encyclopedia, country accounts, personal/survivor narratives, timelines, games, media, and database of links to other resources.

Materials related to Pacific Northwest labor history. Topical areas include (1) The Industrial Workers of the World; (2) The Seattle General Strike of 1919; (3) Anti-Labor Reactions and Labor Espionage; (4) Labor & the New Deal; & (5) Labor in the Modern Era.

Not exclusively devoted to rural land use issues, but much of relevance to this topic.

See at a glance where racial populations are located as self-identified in population surveys. Map can be set to show various demographics (age, race) and mouse-cursoring reveals specific county or metropolitan area statistical breakdown

Produced by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. Provides a wealth of resources in refugee and human rights isssues including landmark legistation, case law from international courts and tribunes, policy documents, articles and "In Focus" featuring recently published guidelines.

Focus on causes of poverty in rural China, and creating solutions in education, health, and nutritional policy.

The United Nations has become the foremost forum to address issues that transcend national boundaries and cannot be resolved by any one country acting alone. This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.