Social Work

The US National Academies Press makes available its entire publication archive free to read online or download. Currently available (2016) are 120 titles in this topic area.

ACPF's mission is to put children in Africa on the public agenda, through the promotion of supportive policies and laws. It pursues these objectives by providing a forum for dialogue; by carrying out research on problems facing children in Africa; providing policy options to deal with them; and by working with other child rights organisations and governments to develop and implement effective pro-child policies and programs.

One of the focus areas of this research center. CASE publishes a series of discussion papers (CASEpapers) which are the result of the research done by members and associates of the Centre. It also publishes a series of summaries of some of this research (CASEbriefs). Particular conferences and activities are summarised in our occasional CASEreports series.

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) traces the history of childhood through products designed for - and art objects about - children since 1900. A diverse array of ideas, practitioners, and objects illustrates how progressive design has informed the physical, intellectual, and emotional development of children and, conversely, how models of children's play and pedagogy have inspired experimental design.

These resources present statistics and data on the different types of abuse and neglect as well as the abuse and neglect of children with disabilities, abuse and neglect in out-of-home care, recurrence, and fatalities.

Primary sources, case studies, and teaching resources about young people from the past to the present. A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media of George Mason University and the University of Missouri at Kansas City.

The Children’s Bureau is the first federal agency within the U.S. government—and in fact, the world—to focus exclusively on improving the lives of children and families. Includes section of Statistics & Research. This agency is responsible for the annual report, Child Welfare Outcomes, formerly available in print and corresponding to CFL Reference Book Ref. HV 741 .C53545

A project of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. Includes a broad spectrum of statistical information.

The Center's mission is to combat crimes against children by providing high quality research and statistics to the public, policy makers, law enforcement personnel, and other child welfare practitioners. Website includes many online research papers on various topics, and links to related resources.

Produced by the Inter-American Development Bank (2015). Part of its research and data series "Development in the Americas."

The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents). We refer to unmarried parents and their children as “fragile families” to underscore that they are families and that they are at greater risk of breaking up and living in poverty than more traditional families. It is a joint effort of Princeton University’s Center for Research on Child Wellbeing (CRCW) and Center for Health and Wellbeing, the Columbia Population Research Center and The National Center for Children and Families (NCCF) at Columbia University. Research publications and some core data are available for use and download at website.

A collaboration of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution, View data, policy analyses, journals, and connect to other organizations and resources on this same topic.

What were children in Iowa concerned with in the 1870s? This nice digital collection from the University of Iowa Libraries starts to answer that question by bringing together 11 different diaries from young Iowans writing from 1862 to 1907.

Links and data collected and arranged on the Child Welfare Information Gateway site. Also see information on site for Working With American Indian Children and Families in Adoption.

The purpose of this training was to prepare juvenile court judges, attorneys, CASA, child protective services, and other child protection professionals with the knowledge and skill needed to effectively implement ICWA. Produced by the Creighton University School of Law (Nebraska).

Focuses on data specifically covering children in the United States. A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Includes current child welfare data specific to North Dakota.

The mission of the National Native Childhood Trauma Center is to address high rates of traumatic stress among American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) children by working under the guidance of tribal nations to implement, adapt, and evaluate trauma interventions. Website includes publications, and information about training and interventions. The NNCTC is one of 3 research centers of the Institute for Education Research and Service at the University of Montana

Child care information for parents, providers, and researchers. Online reports, data, and publications are available at the organization's Data & Publication link.

Prepared by the European Association for Palliative Care Taskforce for Palliative Care in Children. See also recent discussion on the Trieste Charter Proposal on The Rights of the Dying Child (2014) reported in the British journal, The Lancet (3 May 2014), listing 10 fundamental rights felt necessary to afford children approaching the end of their lives.

Focuses on areas critical to children, including access to adequate dental health care; pre-kindergarten programs for all three-and four-year-olds; and home visiting programs that assist new families.

Temporary Aid for Needy Families data. Requires statistical software to view and manipulate. Link also available for data from earlier, precursor program, Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC).

Available to browse topically or by country.

A project of the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF).

Influential and informative report done by UNICEF. View the report and associated documents and media files at the above URL, or download the complete report (34 p.) in any one of 7 languages.

Each issue has a different theme.

3-part series in the British medical journal, The Lancet. Includes (1) Learning from child death review in the USA, England, Australia, and New Zealand; (2) Patterns of child death in England and Wales; & (3) Understanding why children die in high-income countries. [Free registration required to view series]

4-part series published in the British medical journal, The Lancet. Series includes (1) Burden and consequences of child maltreatment in high-income countries; (2) Recognising and responding to child maltreatment; (3) Interventions to prevent child maltreatment and associated impairment; & (4) Promotion of children's rights and prevention of child maltreatment. [Free registration required to view series]

Publications, programs, and related information from WHO.

The reports were produced each year by the Medical Officer of Health (MOH) of a district and set out the work done by his public health and sanitary officers. The reports provided vital data on birth and death rates, infant mortality, incidence of infectious and other diseases, and a general statement on the health of the population. As the work of public health departments expanded, so too did the reports: by the 1930s we are given details on such matters as: (1) numbers visiting maternity and child welfare clinics; (2) pints of free milk dispensed; (3) statistics for use of venereal disease clinics; (4) numbers of tubercular children attending open-air schools; & (5) Poor Law infirmaries and municipal hospitals.

Looks broadly and globally at issues relating to and impacting adolescent wellbeing. Education, peer influence, mental health are explored. Engagement and accountability measures are recommended.

5-Part Series in the British medical journal, The Lancet. Includes (1) Prevention of violence against women and girls: what does the evidence say?; (2) The health-systems response to violence against women; (3) From work with men and boys to changes of social norms and reduction of inequities in gender relations: a conceptual shift in prevention of violence against women and girls; (4) Prevention of violence against women and girls: lessons from practice; & (5) Prevention of violence against women and girls: lessons from practice. [Free registration required to view series]

Research, publications, and links to additional information and organizations on this topic.

Includes searchable database of information (e.g., you may search the content description for words like "statistics"). Other useful content include "products," "resources," and links to individual state research centers ("state capacity").

CDC's extensive data, background, and scientific research in this area. See in particular the web page category, "data and statistics" for precise information on what is known and on what basis FAS determinations are made.

Information and research presented on website. See also the NIAAA’s Research Project Page on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders.

Wide-ranging website. Their FAQ's and Fact Sheets have very good background information and advice.

Includes a wide variety of topics in this subject area. You may also view the North Dakota State data from the National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services at this website.

Mostly topical info, but very comprehensive coverage.