Finding Articles
Use databases to find academic articles to continue your research. Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles on philosophy.
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Includes multidisciplinary and legal journals, essential government documents, state & federal case law, and international resources. Contact the Law Library if you need an alternative accessibility plan.
The following are links to specific academic journals which are published and peer-reviewed by experts in the field.
The following links will take you to online encyclopedias and reference manuals to help you get started on your research. Here you can find general background information, definitions, and history on philosophy.
Ethics: questions of morality of human actions (online)
5 volume set addressing topics such as Ethics & the Tobacco Industry, Income Distribution, and more
The Encyclopedia of Deception examines lying from multiple perspectives drawn from the disciplines of social psychology, sociology, history, business, political science, cultural anthropology, moral philosophy, theology, law, family studies, evolutionary biology, philosophy, and more. From the "little white lie," to lying on a resume, to the grandiose lies of presidents, this two-volume reference explores the phenomenon of lying in a multidisciplinary context to elucidate this common aspect of our daily lives. Not only a cultural phenomenon historically, lying is a frequent occurrence in our everyday lives. Research shows that we are likely to lie or intentionally deceive others several times a day or in one out of every four conversations that lasts more than 10 minutes.
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Search the entire library catalog here.
Books on ethics are generally located in these call numbers ranges on the fourth floor of the library.
| BJ1-1725 | Ethics |
| BJ1188-1295 | Religious ethics |
| BJ1298-1335 | Evolutionary and genetic ethics |
| BJ1395 | Feminist ethics |
| BJ1518-1697 | Individual ethics. Character. Virtue. |
| BJ1725 | Ethics of social groups, classes, etc. Professional ethics |