Research Guides: Maps/Mapping: Maps

Online Map Sites

USGS National Geologic Map Database
A free index to maps and geospatial data related to the geological sciences. A cooperative project of the Association of American State Geologists and the US Geological Survey (USGS), it indexes maps and geospatial data on geology, geophysics, marine geology, geologic resources, and hazards for the US and its territories published from the 1880s to the present. Currently the catalog provides access to 90,000-plus publications
Geolex - National Geologic names lexicon
The U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex"), a National compilation of names and descriptions of geologic units.
Google Maps
ArcGIS
Some maps are available for free. Browse-able.
Atlas of Canada
Canadian government site with reference maps, thematic maps, and more.
GeoData.gov
'one stop shop' for USA maps and data from the U.S. Government.
"Hosts U.S. federal, state, and local geographic maps and data and serves as a GIS data clearinghouse. Includes many data sets and services formerly published to Geography Network." (from Geography Network)
Library of Congress Map Collections
MapQuest
Maps on Us
National Map
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Links to electronic cartographic reference resources, electronic maps of current interest and of general interest worldwide, historical maps, and other map-related sites. Produced by the University of Texas at Austin.
Social Explorer (Free Edition)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to the present. To get started, select "Maps" or "Reports."

Map Location - Chester Fritz Library

Maps and Charts You may want to consult the combined Map Locating Guide that describes how to find maps in both the Chester Fritz Library and the F.D. Holland Geology Library. The F.D. Holland Geology Library has a arger map collection, including USGS maps, (print & digital) than the main Chester Fritz Library.

Locations for maps in the Chester Fritz Library:

Type of Map	Location	Drawer
Airport Obstruction Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 95-109
Airport Obstruction Data Sheets	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 126
CIA — Political and Topical Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	CIA filing cabinet
Civil Aeronautics Board Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	File Boxes on top of drawer 61
Defense Mapping Agency (DMA) — Topographic Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 17-70
Defense Mapping Agency (DMA) — World Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 4-16
Global Navigation Planning Charts and Jet Navigation Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 110
International Chart Series	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 2
Joint Operations Graphic (Ground)	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 128
Magnetic Variation Charts and General Nautical Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 1
Navigation Charts — Operational Navigation Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 111-115
Navigation Charts — Tactical Pilotage Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 116-125
NOAA Navigation Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 71-90
NOAA Bathymetric and Fishing Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 91
Norwegian Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 3
Ontario Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	File Boxes on top of drawer 61
Recreation Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 92
Route Charts	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 127
State and County Subdivision Maps	Floor 1 Map Room	Drawer 93-94
Travel and Road Maps	Floor 2 Reference Desk	Atlas case and State Travel Drawers

Ideas from Map Librarians

Helpful Hints for the Paperless Map Librarian
Links to maps for: Driving Directions/Street Maps; General Reference Maps and Atlases; Topographic Maps; Aerial Photographs and Satellite Images; Historical Maps; Locating Places - Gazateers; GIS Resources.
Map Librarian's Tool Box
(Western Association of Map Libraries)