Skip to main content

Legal Self-Help: ND Self-Help Resources

ND Self-Help Resources

North Dakota Legal Self-Help Center

The North Dakota Legal Self-Help Center provides resources for individuals representing themselves in court in North Dakota. The website includes information and forms on topics such as divorce, guardianship, small claims court, and name changes. This is currently the most comprehensive source for North Dakota-specific self-help resources. In addition to its web-site, Center staff may be contacted via email at:  ndselfhelp@ndcourts.gov.

Legal Services of North Dakota

Legal Services of North Dakota is a non-profit organization providing legal services to low-income and elderly residents in North Dakota. In addition to its staff attorneys, spread through several offices throughout the state, the organization's web-site includes educational materials and forms for those seeking to represent themselves.

UND Law Library Self-Help Collection

The UND Law Library's Self-Help Collection offers self-help legal books on a variety of topics, such as divorce, child custody, bankruptcy, and landlord/tenant law. Books may be browsed or searched on the UND Law Library web-site. North Dakota residents interested in checking out a book may do so by requesting that their local public library "inter-library loan" the book for them.

Finding An Attorney

Legal Services of North Dakota

Legal Services of North Dakota is a non-profit organization providing legal services to low-income and elderly residents in North Dakota. In addition to its staff attorneys, spread through several offices throughout the state, the organization's web-site includes educational materials and forms for those seeking to represent themselves.

SBAND Lawyer Referral Service

The State Bar Association of North Dakota (SBAND) offers the Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRIS), a phone service in which, for a small fee, individuals may be matched with qualified attorneys specializing in their area of need. Note that the fee covers only the matching service; if an individual chooses to hire the attorney, he or she will be responsible for legal fees as specified by that attorney.

How to Conduct Legal Research

How to Research a Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-Lawyers

This guide, published by the American Association of Law Libraries, provides a basic overview of how to conduct legal research. It is aimed at non-lawyers and gives some quick steps to getting started as well as some definitions of basic legal terminology.