Finding Academic Articles
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowMore than 1,100 periodicals & 200 reports from the U.S. Dept. of Education.
- ERIC (EBSCO Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and reports in education.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIndex of journals for teachers and administrators
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection designed for professional educators of over 500 education journals. Contains more than 200 educational reports.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIncludes multidisciplinary and legal journals, essential government documents, state & federal case law, and international resources.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowIEEE journals and conference proceedings in aerospace, electrical engineering, computer science, and other technologies.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowSports, physical education, sports medicine, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, and tourism.
How to search in multiple EBSCO databases at once
Your research topic might involve using articles from different disciplines. One way to search for relevant articles from different disciplines is to search in multiple Ebsco databases at the same time.
To search more than one database at the same time, select Choose Databases and click the box next to the other databases you want to use like in the screenshot below:
Note: If you're unsure what kind of articles are in the databases, hover over the yellow speech bubble to learn more!
Next, press Ok and then click the Search button to re-do your search with the same keywords as your original search but this time in all the databases you selected.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to journals published by Elsevier Science.
- Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, news magazines, and newspaper content covering all disciplines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of important scholarly journals, eBooks and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as originally published.
- Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text of articles is available for journals 1999 to present.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowJournals, books, series, and protocols in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for articles from vetted, high quality journals in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author and journal metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Subscription excludes SMHS and Law Library Patrons.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowIn 2008 merged with Blackwell Synergy to deliver 1400 Wiley-Blackwell journals, and more than 6000 online books, reference works, databases, protocols and other electronic resources through one integrated service.
Google Scholar can be a great resource when you're trying to find related articles for your topic. It's also helpful if you're having some issues finding resources on a topic where there might be a limited amount of available published literature or if you've found some good articles but they're not the most recent publications.
Access Google Scholar from Quick Links on the Library homepage. In Google Scholar, paste in the title of the article you're using for your research. Look for the Cited By link underneath the article info. For the example below, 88 articles have cited the Oakleaf & Kaske article since it was published in 2009. By clicking on Cited By, you would see the information for the 88 articles. Look for the PDF or FindIt@UND button to access the articles.
Pro-tip: Don't see the FindIt@UND button next to an article you need for your research? Get it through our Interlibrary Loan service!