How to see the Reference Books & Encyclopedias
Click the tabs in the box below to see reference books in each section.
- Readers: a collection of writings often related to a particular theme or context. An anthology. Also a sourcebook of scholarly, original writings, usually used in research.
- Handbooks: a scholarly or reference book of instruction on a specific subject. A manual.
- Dictionaries
- Encyclopedias: brief articles on various topics covering all branches of knowledge or all aspects of one subject. Encyclopedias can be used for:
- background or introductory information on a topic
- a jumping off point for your research
- terminology or additional keywords to use in further searches
- Research Methods: think about and design your research project.
- Law Enforcement: Law enforcement-related reference books.
- Cybersecurity/Cybercrime: cybersecurity-related reference books
Selected Reference (Online and Print Books)
In Their Own Words: An anthology, 5th ed.Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6030 .I488 2010)
An Eye for an Eye: A global history of crime and punishmentCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV8501 .R68 2014)
School Shootings: International Research, Case Studies, and Concepts for PreventionCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (LB3013.3 .S348 2013)
White-Collar Crime: The abuse of corporate and government powerCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6769 .B468 2011)
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice (ONLINE)Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge International Handbook of Biosocial CriminologyCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6025 .R697 2015)
Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender StudiesCall Number: FL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6024.5 .R68 2013)
Handbook of Life-Course CriminologyCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6025 .H36 2013)
The SAGE Handbook of Punishment and SocietyCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV8665 .S24 2013)
Encyclopedia of DeceptionCall Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference BF637.D42 E53 2014
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and AbuseCall Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference HV6626 .E535 2013
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional FacilitiesCall Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (HV9471 .E427 2005)
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment (ONLINE)Publication Date: 2007
The Encyclopedia of American Law EnforcementCall Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (HV8133 .N49 2007)
Dictionary of Policing (ONLINE)Publication Date: 2008
World Police EncyclopediaCall Number: CFL Floor 2 Reference (HV7901 .W64 2006)
Fifty Key Thinkers in CriminologyCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6023 .F54 2010)
Life on the OutsideCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV9468.B28 G66 2004)
- Calculating basic statistical procedures in SPSS: A self-help and practical guide to preparing theses, dissertations, and manuscriptsPublication Date: 2011A set of steps and screenshots to depict each important step in conducting basic statistical analyses using SPSS-PC versions 15-19.
Developing Research QuestionsPublication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal JusticeCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6024.5 .B32 2018)
Research Methods for Criminology and Criminal Justice: A primerCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6024.5 .D36 2006)
The Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal JusticeCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6024.5 .B33 2017)
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research MethodsCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (HV6024.5 .S24 2012)
- The Process of Research Writing (ONLINE)Open Access book by Steven D. Krause, Eastern Michigan University - Version 1.0,Spring 2007.
A Thesis Resource Guide for Criminology and Criminal JusticePublication Date: 2006
How to Write a LotPublication Date: 2018
Surviving Your Dissertation: A comprehensive guide to content and processPublication Date: 2015
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology and related fieldsPublication Date: 2006
Cyber Defense and Situational AwarenessCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks HV6773 .C93 2014
Data Mining and Machine Learning in CybersecurityCall Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks QA76.9.D343 D825 2011
