Research Guides: Comm 102: Communication and the Human Community: Government, Tribal

Government and Tribal Sources

Federal Government

Search our library catalog. We are a Federal Depository and make reports easy to find both online and print

Search the Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly online service

Go to the website usa.gov to search all of the different federal agencies at once

If searching Google add this phrase to your search site:gov

Sample of helpful sites:

Women's Bureau, US Department of Labor includes labor force participation rates, mother's labor force participation, earnings data, and more
Department of Justice Agencies include ones for elderly, children, civil rights and tribal justice

North Dakota Compass
Tracks economic, political & social indicators within North Dakota, such as Aging, Civil Engagement, Demographics, Education, Economy, Housing, and Workforce.
North Dakota State Government Website
This is the entry portal for North Dakota state government resources
North Dakota State Legislature
Includes information on bills and laws, as well as the Constitution and Century Code and other legislative information
North Dakota Supreme Court
Includes access to North Dakota Supreme Court cases dating back to 1965
North Dakota State Agencies
A listing of all state of North Dakota agencies
North Dakota Department of Health
Includes information on the health of North Dakotans as well as updates on public health issues in the state of North Dakota
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Includes teacher credentialing requirements, data on the school lunch programs, and North Dakota curriculum materials
North Dakota Department of Commerce Data Center
Search to see number of businesses in North Dakota, profiles of North Dakota communities, local developers, and more
North Dakota University System
Includes information on student enrollment and university budgets (look under the "Reports and Information" tab)
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
Includes Tax Commissioner's annual report and related data for tax collection in North Dakota
Local Government Resources in North Dakota
This is the official portal for information generated by the North Dakota government offices.
North Dakota Association of Counties
Lists North Dakota counties, includes legislative information pertinent to each county, and useful links to other governmental websites
North Dakota League of Cities
Covers information such as taxes across North Dakota, Citizens Corp Councils, and surveys and handbooks on North Dakota topics of interest (zoning, salaries, etc)
City of Grand Forks
STATISTICS--North Dakota Sate Data Center
"The NDSDC was established in 1981 by Executive Order of the Governor to serve as North Dakota's official source of population and socio-economic statistics." It exists as the official link to the U.S. Census Bureau, Dept. of Commerce, & more.
STATISTICS--North Dakota--Agricultural Statistics
USDA (in conjunction with NDSU & the North Dakota Department of Agriculture) have set up a site for North Dakota agricultural statistics.
STATISTICS--North Dakota Drilling & Production Statistics
Statistics and totals on oil production and drilling in the state of North Dakota.
STATISTICS--UND Institutional Research
Links to departmental annual reports, results of campus surveys, and more.

North Dakota Guide to State Statistics (DataPlanet)

If searching Google add this phrase to your search site:nd.gov

Minnesota Compass
Tracks economic, political & social indicators within Minnesota, such as Aging, Civil Engagement, Demographics, Education, Economy, Housing, Immigration and Workforce.
Minnesota State Government Website
This is the entry portal for Minnesota state government resources
Minnesota Legislative Information
Information regarding bills status, legislative directories, other government offices, and more.
Minnesota Women's Legislative Timeline
Significant Legislation Passed by the Minnesota Legislature Since Suffrage
Minnesota Statutes, Laws, and Rules
Browse or search Minnesota statutes, laws, and rules by keyword and phrase. You'll also find the Minnesota state Constitution through this website
Association of Minnesota Counties
"The Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC) is a voluntary statewide organization that assists the state’s 87 counties in providing effective county governance to the people of Minnesota."
Minnesota Association of Townships
"The Minnesota Association of Townships is a voluntary membership organization representing 1,785 of Minnesota's 1,786 organized townships"
Metropolitan Council
"The Metropolitan Council is the regional planning agency serving the Twin Cities seven-county metropolitan area and providing essential services to the region"-includes statistical data on the area
Minnesota Historical Society
Information on 26 Minnesota historical sites and museums as well as contact information for local and genealogical history
Minnesota State Law Library
Provides an excellent overview of the resources available for researching Minnesota legal information. Check with the UND law library, Thormodsgard Library, if you need more
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
One of the 12 federal reserve banks, the Fed of Minneapolis serves the surrounding region, including North Dakota
League of Minnesota Cities
"The League serves its more than 800 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services."
City of East Grand Forks
The website for the city of East Grand Forks
STATISTICS--Minnesota State Demographic Center
Data from state, U.S. Census Bureau, and other sources.
STATISTICS--Minnesota Labor Market Information
Statistics and analysis for labor and wages, export and trade, and more.
STATISTICS--Minnesota Agricultural Statistics
USDA (in conjunction with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture) have set up a site for Minnesota agricultural statistics.

Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). Volumes I through VII are available on the web both as fully searchable digitized text and as page images.
F ederally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans

National Congress of American Indians (NCAI)
The major national tribal government organization, NCAI monitors federal policy and coordinated efforts to inform federal decisions that affect tribal government interests.

North Dakota Compass
Lists Native American Reservation Area Profiles in North Dakota (under Profiles), such as Aging, Children & Youth, Demographics, Education, Economy, Housing, and Workforce