Research Guides: Engl 130: Research Hacks: North Dakota

Education

NDUS and State Board of Higher Education
Information about the ND higher education system
ND Department of Public Instruction
The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction has information on schools and school policies.
Free and Reduced Meal Program
Information on ND Department of Public Education's meal programs for school-aged children and young adults.
North Dakota Student Association
ND public college and university students with the purpose of representing students in policy decisions that affect ND higher education

Mental Health America of North Dakota
A consumer-run 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to promoting positive mental health
North Dakota Behavioral Health
Mental health, addiction, and prevention resources from the state of North Dakota
North Dakota Behavioral Health Barometer
The 2019 National Survey on ND Drug Use and Mental Health from the National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services

America's News
Access nearly 4,000 US newspapers, along with coverage to 28 North Dakota newspapers, including the Grand Forks Herald and the image edition of the Bismarck Tribune.
US Newsstream (Proquest Newspapers)
Full text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

North Dakota Monitor
North Dakota Monitor is a nonprofit, nonpartisan source for trusted news, commentary and insight into statewide policy and critical issues (About US)

Prairie Business Can search for articles about local business connections to worldwide issues

North Dakota Tourism
Provides tourism information
ND SBDC
North Dakota Small Business Development Center through UND helps small business owners find success
Prairie Business Magazine
Search for articles about local businesses, new local startups, and local business ideas and resources.
North Dakota Quickfacts
Comparison of North Dakota population facts side-by-side with U.S. total population facts
Municode Library
Municipal codes for cities throughout the United States
U.S. Census Business Builder
Census data tailored to the perspective of a small business owner

North Dakota State Legislature
Includes information on bills and laws, as well as the Constitution and Century Code and other legislative information
North Dakota Supreme Court
Includes access to North Dakota Supreme Court cases dating back to 1965
North Dakota Association of Counties
Lists North Dakota counties, includes legislative information pertinent to each county, and useful links to other governmental websites
North Dakota League of Cities
Covers information such as taxes across North Dakota, Citizens Corp Councils, and surveys and handbooks on North Dakota topics of interest (zoning, salaries, etc)
North Dakota Department of Corrections Statistics
This unique compilation of data provides a visual representation of key statistics for each state as well as a comparison of each state in relation to other states.
National Governors Association
The bipartisan organization of the nation's governors
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Bipartisan organization providing state support, ideas, connections, etc.
North Dakota Parks and Recreation
Parks and Recreation information for North Dakota

North Dakota Quickfacts
Comparison of North Dakota population facts side-by-side with U.S. total population facts
U.S. Census Business Builder
Census data tailored to the perspective of a small business owner

USDA Partnership for Climate-Smart Commodities
U.S. Department of Agriculture project to encourage climate-smart practices in agriculture
ND DEQ
North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality with resources on sustainability in ND
ND Environmental Protection
Environmental Protection Agency resources for North Dakota
Audubon Dakota
The Audubon Society of North Dakota provides news and information about local birds and their habitats.
401(e) Home Energy Service
Provides home owners with information on energy conservation.
Northern Great Plains Climate Assessment
Regional part of the fourth installment of the National Climate Assessment of global change
SARE Grants
Grant program aimed at sustainable agriculture innovations.
North Dakota Farmers Market & Growers
Association to support locally grown and processed North Dakota products
Northern Plains Sustainable Ag
Organizations focused on educating and supporting North Dakota region's agricultural sustainability efforts.

North Dakota Digital Atlas
A digital project with UND students intended to map different aspects of ND
Main Street ND
Initiative set up to help communities connect to state-wide and online resources
Tech ND
Technology council of North Dakota
NDIT-EduTech
Works developing technology systems and coordinating their use to enhance and support educational opportunities for elementary and secondary education.

National Congress of American Indians (NCAI)
The major national tribal government organization, NCAI monitors federal policy and coordinated efforts to inform federal decisions that affect tribal government interests.
U.S. Department of Indian Affairs
The U.S. government department for maintaining relationships with Indian tribes, and facilitating support for tribal people and tribal governments
ND Tribal Nations
Information and resources on local tribal affairs in ND
North Dakota's Native American Tribes
Information and resources on visiting and learning about local tribes in North Dakota