Public Health statistics and datasets
FedStats - Statistics from over 100 US government agencies
HealthData.gov - DHHS - Data hub for the Health and Human Services (HHS) Community Health Data Initiative. Contains clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more from CMS, CDC, FDA, NIH, etc.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce: Health Data Tools and Statistics - Comprehensive list of health data tools and statistics including health information technology and standards; health statistics; national public health data sets; state and local public health data sets; public health infrastructure data; and tools for data collection and planning
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR - An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
datasets and statistics by topic:
data visualizations and maps
CDC - Sortable Stats - Interactive data set of behavioral risk factors and health indicators for state level data from all 50 states, DC and the US Territories.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR - An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Key Facts: Race, Ethnicity and Medical Care - Quick reference source on health disparities including data on the uninsured and access to care by race/ethnicity as well as information about the disproportionate effect that specific conditions such as diabetes, HIV/AIDS, and asthma have on racial and ethnic minority populations in the U.S. Demographic data on the racial/ethnic minority population in each state and the U.S. territories are also included.
Aging Stats - Data on the 38 key indicators selected to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care
Longitudinal Studies of Aging - Multicohort study of persons 70 years of age and over designed primarily to measure changes in the health, functional status, living arrangements, and health services utilization of two cohorts of Americans
CDC - Adolescent and School Health - The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults. YRBSS data is collected through surveys conducted by CDC and by state, territorial, tribal, local education, and health agencies and tribal governments.
Kids Count - More than 100 indicators of child well-being, including economic status, health, safety, and risk factors for all states
National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) - Catalogue of existing surveillance systems that contain data relevant to childhood obesity research. It includes local, state, and national systems that provide data at multiple levels.
Chronic Conditions Data Warehouse - Provides researchers with Medicare and Medicaid beneficiary, claims, and assessment data linked by beneficiary across the continuum of care.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) - Data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
SEER (National Cancer Institute) - Data on incidence, mortality, prevalence, survival, lifetime risk and by race/ethnicity
US Cancer Statistics: An Interactive Atlas - The Interactive Cancer Atlas (InCA) allows you to access United States Cancer Statistics (USCS) data to create customized maps. You can display incidence and death counts and rates by cancer site, gender, year of diagnosis, and more. Using the trend data player, you can see how the data changed over the years.
CIA - The World Factbook - The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Compare the statistical measures of data such as birthrate, obesity, or AIDs incidence across many world countries at once.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ) - The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. We measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment. We analyse and compare data to predict future trends. We set international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.
WHOSIS (World Health Organization) - Core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. It comprises more than 100 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables. The data can be further filtered, tabulated, charted and downloaded.
American Community Survey (US Census Bureau) - Nationwide survey designed to provide communities with a look at how they are changing. Collects data every year.
America's Health Rankings - Annual assessment of the nation's health on a state-by-state basis
Community Health Status Indicators - Overview of key health indicators for local communities. Contains over 200 measures for each US county.
County Health Rankings - Includes reports ranking each US county according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county's health.
Kaiser State Health Facts - interactive maps offers data on each state by categories like demographics, health costs, minority health, etc.
NHQR State Snapshots - Provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State.
State/Local Resources from the National Library of Medicine - comprehensive listing of links to various state resources from the National Library of Medicine
North Dakota Compass - "A project of the Center for Social Research at North Dakota State University, ND Compass provides reliable and consistent information needed by North Dakota’s community, policy, organizational, non-profit, and business leaders who must plan for the future in an environment of continuous change."
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Statistical data and information related to the social and economic conditions of the United States. Subject areas include inflation and prices; employment and unemployment; pay and benefits; spending and time use; productivity; and workplace injuries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System - CDC - World’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984
CDC Wonder - Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics; Query numeric data sets on CDC's computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query
FastStats A to Z - CDC - From the CDC. Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically
Health, United States - CDC - Annual report on trends in health statistics
Department of Health and Human Services
Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources - US DHHS -Compilation of information about virtually all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
DHHS Data Council Gateway to Data and Statistics -Key health and human services data and statistics
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project - DHHS - Free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources - NLM -The National Library of Medicine's Health Services Research Resources (HSRR) is a searchable database of research datasets, instruments/indices, and software. Users may review data and compare characteristics across datasets. Examples of HSRR data sources include: clinical records, discharge summaries, claims records, epidemiological surveys, surveys, and registries.The HSRR database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. Each HSRR record contains information a
Health Statistics Guide - National Library of Medicine list of web resources for locating statistics
HSR Information Central Data, Tools and Statistics - National Library of Medicine - the National Library of Medicine's list of data, tools, and statistics generated by various government resources.
Health Data.gov - Datasets and tools gathered from agencies across the US Federal government.
U.S. Census Bureau
Statistical Abstract Series - U.S. Census - The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book up until 2011. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstracts