Research Guides: American Indian Studies: Academic Databases, Journals & Newspapers

Database Best Bets

Below are the most helpful databases for finding relevant articles for American Indian topics.

Note: Other databases may use "American Indians" or "Native Americans." Canadian sources use "Aboriginal", "First Nations", or "Native Peoples." You can also search the tribe's name or geographic area.

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR
An archive of important scholarly journals, eBooks and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as originally published.

Project Muse
Full-text of nearly 400 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, and over 50,000 eBooks primarily from university presses.

Other useful databases:

America: History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Native American Indians, 1645 - 1819 (Readex)
Provides access to over 1,600 documents about Native Peoples in North America, covering tribal histories, languages and grammar, songs, tribal meeting minutes, letters from Native American leaders, accounts of battles, and more. Includes author biographies and text analysis tools.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Includes oral histories, personal writings, drawings, photographs, biographies, autobiographies, audio files and more related to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Find collections related to specific events, people, tribes, and more.
ProQuest Indian Claims Insight
Indian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as federal government Indian removal policies. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes; and related statutes and congressional publications.

North American Indian Studies Channel (AVON)
Selection of streaming videos on Native American history in the US

Academic Journals

American Indian Quarterly
The journal is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
The American Indian Culture and Research Journal, the premiere journal in Native American studies, publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
American Indian Law Review
The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the Review offers in-depth articles by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, the Review offers comments and notes written by student members and editors on a wide variety of Indian law-related topics.
Early American Literature
Early American Literature publishes work of scholars examining American literature from its inception through the early national period, about 1830, including Native American literature.

Ethnic Diversity Source
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Journal of American Indian Education
A refereed journal publishing original scholarship directly related to the education of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including Inuit, Métis, and First Nations of Canada, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others. JAIE strives to improve Indigenous education through empirical research, knowledge generation, and transmission to researchers, communities, classrooms, and diverse educational settings.
Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL)
Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures broadly defined to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples.
Wicazo Sa Review
Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting Indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian Studies has emerged as a central arena in which Indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal, and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world.

Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
US Newstream (Proquest Newspapers)
Full text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
US News Archives on the Web
Links to United States news archives available on the Web, arranged by state.