Our NYT subsciption includes access to their education resource website, nytimes.com/edu
From an on-campus computer (or off campus, use the link on the CFL website), type in “University of North Dakota” where it asks for institution, and create an account. (no access to crossword puzzles or cooking, sadly).
Features:
· Discipline-specific areas of study
· Classroom discussion prompts
· Suggested learning outcomes
· General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement
· Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
A database for beginning researchers in grades Kindergarten through Grade 5.
Academic vs. Practitioner Journals
Both academic journals and practitioner journals are useful when looking for research on topics in education.
There are some differences:
Academic journalsin education feature articles written by researchers which focus on the latest scholarship in the fields of teaching and learning. Thesewill often have a specific format (introduction, methods, results, and discussion) and a lengthy list of references. These articles are frequently peer-reviewed and can be excellent resources for educators on measurement and evaluation, policy, leadership and decision-making, human development, theoretical and conceptual foundations, and institutional structures.
Practitioner journal articles are written to reach those working in the field and will have information on practical and engaging instructional methods or trends in the field. These articles will also have references but tend to be fewer. Education practitioner journals feature articles written by educators on trends, changes, and innovative practices in the field. These journals can be excellent resources for educators on instruction, curriculum design, and effective and engaging activities for the classroom.
The next two boxes will give you some of the best choices to work with.
Provides information on the complex issues facing educators today including education trends, student achievement, curriculum development, school finance, etc.
Serves administrators, teachers, and others. Examines current issues in secondary education and focuses on the major issues facing those involved with secondary education.
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
Flagship publication of Learning Forward, an association "focused on the most critical lever for improving schools -- building the knowledge and skills of educators."
Concerned with classroom approaches to mathematics teaching. Contains articles written by primary & secondary classroom teachers as well as advisors & other with links with mathematics education.
The Reading Teacher (RT) provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. RT’s classroom-ready articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.
AASA Journal of Scholarship & Practice is published through the AASA Leadership Development Office and is a refereed, blind-reviewed, quarterly journal with a focus on research and evidence-based practice. It is designed to benefit AASA members and full-time and adjunct professors.
Features articles for high school science educators, interviews, mentoring, recent news notes, book reviews, and National Science Teachers Association news.
Social Education contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas. The award-winning resources include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines.
Teaching Exceptional Children (TEC) features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning.
National Endowment for the Humanities with the National Trust for the Humanities & the MarcoPolo Education Foundation provides websites and lesson plans for Art & Culture, Literature & Language Arts, Foreign Language, and History & Social Studies. Links to other partner-developed content from National Geographic & Science NetLinks, etc.
Provides expanded access to Harvard Business Review’s (HBR) top 500 articles. Includes company information with case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, and Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys.
Includes multidisciplinary and legal journals, essential government documents, state & federal case law, and international resources. Contact the Law Library if you need an alternative accessibility plan.
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
International Higher Education (IHE) publishes insightful, informed, and high-quality commentary and analysis on trends and issues of importance to higher education systems, institutions, and stakeholders around the world.
An authoritative news and information source for professionals in international education. WENR keeps readers abreast of education developments around the world and includes practical "how-to" articles on credential evaluation, international admissions and recruiting.
