Internal Medicine & TY Residency/Geriatrics Fellowship

• Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2023
• CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024
• DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination, 11e
• Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition 
• Harrison's Manual of Medicine, 20e
• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e
• Netter's Essential Physiology, Third Edition
• Taber's® Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 23e
• Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed

Library Book Catalog: This link allows you to search and have access to UND's Library Resources for specific electronic book titles.
You can search by book title or by subject.

• AccessMedicine: Medical titles, images and videos, case files, diagnostic tools, and drug database.
• Anatomy.tv: Primal Pictures Anatomy.tv provides a 3D atlas of human anatomy, a 3D real-time interactive tool through which you can layer and remove organ systems, and several other helpful modules, including an imaging module and a quizzing module.
• ClinicalKey: Evidence based search that provides health care professionals with point-of-care answers.
• Embase: Index of peer-reviewed biomedical literature
• PubMed: Health and life sciences journal article search.
• VisualDx: Database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases.

• EvidenceUpdates

  Create a free account to set up email alerts based on your area of interest.

• NEJM Journal Watch

  Set up an RSS feed or create a free account to set email alerts based on your area of interest.

• PubMed This link opens in a new window

  Health and life sciences journal article search.

• APA Psychiatry News

  Create a free account to receive email alerts.

• BMJ Evidence-Based Mental Health

• Patient Education from Medline Plus is an online resource for patients providing easy to read information on health conditions, wellness conditions, etc., as well as videos.
• Access Medicine has patient education handouts on various topics as well as specialty-specific patient education handouts.
  • Access Medicine also includes a variety of Infographics for a quick visual synopses of various health conditions.

UND's School of Medicine and Health Sciences focuses on these five areas for social determinants of health:

• Opioid Use Disorder
• Addiction and Substance Use Disorder
• Anxiety, Depression, and Suicide
• Adverse Childhood Experiences
• Obesity

For background information on Social Determinants of Health:

• This Book Chapter explains concepts of food shortages, transportation challenges, lack of access to care, physician difficulty providing resources to patients, and more from an Emergency Department perspective.
• Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, and Populations 
• The Rural Health Information Hub's SODH Toolkit for Rural People provides resources and program models to address a variety of social determinants of health in rural communities. The RHI Hub also provides the following resources:
  • Guide from Center for Rural Health
  • Developing culturally competent services
  • Social Determinant of Health

Culture information for different ethnicities and regions:

• CultureCard - a guide to build cultural awareness about American Indian and Alaska Native populations
• Book - History of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. The book includes coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing.
• Minority Profiles
  • Black/African American Health in the United States (pdf)
  • Asian American Health in the United States and Territories (pdf)
  • Hispanic/Latino Health in the United States (pdf)
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander Health in the United States and U.S. Territories (pdf)
  • American Indian & Alaska Native Health in the United States (pdf)