Skip to main content

Thormodsgard Law Library: About

University of North Dakota School of Law, Grand Forks, North Dakota.

Law Library

Click item to expand-collapse.

Law School homepage

Law Library homepage

 

Library Hours
for the Public

Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday-Sunday noon - 5:00 pm

CLOSED
Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 22
Saturday, November 24
Sunday, November 25

Mailing Address:

Thormodsgard Law Library
2968 2nd Avenue North
Stop 9004
Grand Forks, ND 58202-9004

Physical Address:

2968 2nd Avenue North
Grand Forks, ND

701.777.2204 Circulation Desk
701.777.4956 fax

About the Thormodsgard Law Library

The Thormodsgard Law Library is an active force in the educational life at the University of North Dakota School of Law, working in partnership with the law school to produce well-rounded legal professionals. The priority of the law library is to provide the collections and services necessary to support and strengthen the teaching, scholarship, research, and service programs of the UND School of Law students and faculty. As a state-assisted academic institution, the law library also serves as a source of legal information for the University of North Dakota community, the bench and bar, and the public, as resources permit. Our goal is to serve in accordance with the Ethical Principles of the American Association of Law Libraries.

The collection reflects the Core Collection as set forth by the American Bar Association and includes such resources as case reporters, statutes, constitutions, legislative process materials, administrative materials, restatements, treatises, periodicals, and selected non-legal resources.

The materials in the collection are accessed through ODIN, the online catalog, as well as through index, citator, and digest services maintained in the library.

A variety of electronic databases are available for law student and faculty research.

The Chester Fritz Library, which houses the main University of North Dakota library collection, and the Harley E. French Library of the Health Sciences, are both located near the School of Law. Both libraries complement the law library collection and facilitate interdisciplinary research.

The Thormodsgard Law Library is named after Olaf H. Thormodsgard, Dean of the University of North Dakota School of Law from 1933 to 1962.