Citation Management Software are computer programs that allow you to generate, save, and sort citations online or on a desktop client. These managers can also generate in-text citations and a bibliography from inside MS Word, saving you a whole lot of time when it comes time for that final paper.
|
|
EndNote Desktop |
EndNote Basic |
Mendeley |
Zotero |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Cost |
Requires individual purchase by user, research group or department. Desktop: $249.95 |
Free |
Free; option to pay for additional cloud storage or additional private groups |
Free; option to pay for additional cloud storage |
|
Ease of use |
More difficult |
Moderately easy |
Moderately easy |
Easy |
|
How do I get it? |
Purchase and download from EndNote website |
Download from online: https://www.myendnoteweb.com/ |
Create account
Download desktop client
Install Web Importer
Install Word plugin: Windows or Mac |
Create account: https://www.zotero.org/user/register/
Download: https://www.zotero.org/download/
(word plugin is installed at the same time) |
|
How does it work? |
Desktop client (Win/Mac) |
Web-based interface. Register through Web of Science. Accessible anywhere.
or download the Free software for a 30 day trial - includes all of the features |
Desktop client (Win / Mac / Linux) |
Online account which syncs to desktop client. Plugins for grabbing citations work with Firefox, Chrome, or Safari
Backup & sync via web-based account accessible anywhere |
|
Can I save citations while I browse? |
Yes: direct export from some databases, manual import using ENL / RIS |
Yes: direct export from some databases, manual import using RIS |
Yes: grab citations from popular databases using Web Importer |
Yes: browser plugin grabs citations from many popular databases, manual import using RIS/BiBTeX |
|
Creates formatted bibliographies and in-text citations in a word processor |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Collaboration and sharing |
Free sharing of citations and attachments with up to 100 EndNote users |
Share EndNote Web account with other EndNote Web users (cannot share file attachments)
Create shared groups that all users can edit |
Create public and private groups
Automatic synchronization of collections among multiple computers
One private group of 3 members free (costs for private groups) |
Create public and private groups
Automatic synchronization of collections among multiple computers |
|
Storage in cloud and maximum number of records |
Unlimited cloud storage
Version X4-present: Unlimited records/library |
2GB cloud storage
10,000 records/library |
2GB cloud storage (about 700 articles)
Unlimited records/library |
300MB cloud storage (about 100 articles) more available for a fee
Unlimited records/library |
|
Word Processing software compatibility |
Cite-While-You-Write: MS Word and OpenOffice |
Cite-While-You-Write: MS Word and OpenOffice |
MS Word Plugin, Open Office, and BibTex |
Word Processor Plugins for MSWord & LibreOffice |
https://www.library.wisc.edu/services/citation-managers/comparison-chart/
https://www.lib.umn.edu/pim/compare
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software
https://louisiana.libguides.com/citationmanagers
Content in this handout was adapted from the “Comparison Chart” guide from the University of Wisonsin-Madison Libraries, the “Comparing Citation Managers” guide from the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the “Comparing Citation Managers” guide from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette University Libraries, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Generic License.